We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent downtown location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Coast Coal Harbour Hotel to your Saves list
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Coal Harbour)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Woodbridge
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent downtown location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I had an excellent, quiet room, with a north and west view. The north view was across Burrard Inlet, and the west view was into buildings nearby. The hotel is in easywalking distance of transit and SkyTrain, and most downtown locations. It's a new property and well kept up. Friendly staff!

Room Tip: The best views are to the north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear 416Traveller2013,
Thank you for taking the time to post your great comments on TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    302
    57
    8
    8
See reviews for
194
366
85
261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I stay at this Hotel regularly due to business. The Hotel staff are excellent, always very cheerful and helpful. The front desk staff and door staff always go out of their way to assist. The rooms are consistently clean and very well decorated/modern for a hotel in this price range. The restaurant and other faciities are excellent. Good location, few blocks to shopping and entertainment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Mary M,
Thank you for your comments. It is such a delight to see comments posted from a regular travel guest of ours. This speaks to consistency of our delivery and product which is something that we strive for.
I look forward to meeting you personally on a future visit.
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel is more like a 3 1/2 star. The rooms have very thin walls, pool is located outside but picture makes it look inside, bell staff in nice but clueless about what to recommend, large blue sign on building next door lights up room at night.

Room Tip: Use room77.com to check out room views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear sfmichaela,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on-line. We value feedback posted as it allows us an opportunity to grow and evolve our experiences in our effort to be the downtown Vancouver location of choice. I am sorry to hear that there are concerns that you have expressed that we may not be able to address.
All the best in your future travels.
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Hard to say its overly good nor average.. Ill say i had a good stay.. People are there to help you for anything you may ask especially my trip was my first time being in Van City.. I heard the restaurant is good.. This location is also close to some more good and affordable ones outside.. I regret renting a car not knowing transit system is perfectly located and parking a car is ubber expensive in that area.. Luckily a friend lend me a spot.. Gym is perfectly layed out with the outdoor pool..Other than that this hotel offer deals sometimes that will beat a 3 star hotel price and knowing this is a 4-4.5 star feel to it..

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Ninzm,
Thank you for your review. As we are situated in an outstanding downtown location, and downtown Vancouver parking can be a bit pricey throughout, your comments regarding no need for a car rental is well said.
If there is anything else that we could have done have provided you with a five point rating during your trip, please feel free to reach out to us personally so that we may follow-up.
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Rupert, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

In Vancouver on business. Awesome views and great location. The room and facility exceeded my expectations. I didn't try the restaurant but it looked cool and funky (definitely worth trying if traveling with my spouse - I ate across the street at the urban fare market which was great for a more casual vibe for being on my own). I was really impressed at the genuine and evident commitment of the Coast to reducing their environmental footprint which is important to my organization and me. I highly recommend the Coast Coal Harbour.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Pomojack,
Thank you for posting your review about your recent stay with us at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel.
Your observations regarding our restaurant, Preston's, are correct. It is a refreshingly local dining experience and we invite you to check us out when you return.
Please come again soon.
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I have never stayed at a Coast Hotel before and I was pleasantly surprised! I arrived late in the evening and Rachel checked me in and was incredibly friendly and helpful. I asked if I could have a harbour view and she juggled things around to accommodate.

The room was nice clean and modern and I had a great view! I did use the business center to print some documents and it was very well equipped.

Overall a very nice hotel and I would go out of my way to stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Madmac3,
Thank you for your great comments. As a first time visitor to the Coast Coal Harbour, we are thrilled to hear that your experience will encourage you to stay with us again and has gained your travel loyalty with out brand.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Great room, parking or breakfast included in great rate,(typical parking downtown Vancouver for overnight is $40) upgraded us to a corner room on upper floor with Harbour view. Room is spaciousI (300 Sq. Ft.) with modern lav. Very quite and complimentary Starbucks Coffee. A great short or long term option for downtown Vancouver vacation or business. PS. Free wifi in room.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Jason E,
You have posted great comments about your stay with us, thank you very much for those. We would also love to hear how we could have achieved a five point rating, or how to achieve that in the future. Please feel free to contact us directly.
Enjoy your travels.
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Coal Harbour , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.