We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Coast Coal Harbour Hotel to your Saves list
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Coal Harbour)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fraser Valley, BC
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Rate, room, amenities were great for the cost. Hotel staff were exceptional; friendly and helpful. Staff engaged us I conversation, worked to ensure our needs we're being met, even while waiting for friends in the lobby. Suggestions for evening meals were fantastic. The little things make the trip, right? Room was very nice, and for the rate, was a fantastic value. For that and service, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone for holiday or business.

Room Tip: Northwest corner room had a lovely view of the harbor and north shore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
I agree with you: it’s the little things that count and our Ambassadors are great when it comes to details. We appreciate the review and recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    302
    57
    8
    8
See reviews for
194
366
85
261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The hotel was excellent. During my visit to Canada I stayed at 3 different hotels and Coast Coal Harbour is my favorite one. The room was small (smallest one from 3 of visited) but very comfortable with an amazing view. Very clean. The staff was helpful and understanding.

Room Tip: Ask of the bay view. It is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, great to hear that you liked our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at Coal Harbour for 3 nights in September. The hotel was in a good location and the facilities were good: spacious rooms, great little hot tub and pool, but the staff were even better. We had an unfortunate incident whilst we were in Vancouver, which could have resulted in us abandoning our holiday. However, the front desk staff in particular, were so helpful, considerate and efficient, that we were able to stay on and continue with the rest of the holiday. They really did make all the difference and we will be forever grateful to them for the compassion and support they showed us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Comments like yours are the best reward anyone can wish for! Thank you so much, we are extremely happy that we could contribute to a good vacation; our team will love reading your review! We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed here with a great online rate that enticed me to succumb to paying the pay-more-than-you -get price of modern, downtown Vancouver hotels. This was an incredibly comfortable hotel, with incredibly friendly staff. On several occasions, I caught myself having full conversations with guest services or reception attendants while waiting in the lobby. My premium king suite was comfortable and modern, and on the top floor (as requested in my reservation notes). However, it lacked any kind of character you might expect from a $200+/night stay. I've stayed in many hotels on the BC and US West coast that provide a lot more depth to their rooms and at equal or less cost. This is, however, the price you pay in Vancouver. I would stay here again... but not before I try out a few others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
My team will appreciate reading your kind review and I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had a wonderful 3 night stay at this hotel near picturesque Coal Harbour. The location is about mid-way between Stanley Park and the downtown shopping area. We stayed in a large room with sitting area (Premium King). . . the bathroom was quite nice with a separate shower and big soaking tub. This hotel is way above average in every way. By the way, there is a terrific store diagonally across the street (Urban Fair) that offers great breakfasts, coffee, and an extensive lunch and dinner menu. The hotel's restaurant "Prestons" also has a very creative menu.

Room Tip: Book a premium king with a balcony which offer more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very lucky to be in such a great downtown location, within walking distance to everything. We are looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have looked at many hotels. Overall my entire experience with Canada was amazing so it is very hard to say that my hotel was superior to any other option out there but it was so pleasent as far as the staff, cleanliness, location etc. that I can not find one bad thing about the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We truly appreciate your review and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Three day stay, September. Booked direct with hotel.

After a 10.5 UK flight, departure that was delayed by 3 hours. We arrived tired. Excellent reception and check in. We had our room request of high floor with water view honored, fab.

We went straight to the bar on the rear second floor. The bar man offered us first drink on the house compliments of check in desk,, what a great start.

Location is just a long block from waterfront, one block nearer than the Loden. Good to walk along water front to the Olympic flame are then on to hub area past cruise dock to gas town. For shopping Robson street two blocks back and a few along. Opposite the Rennaisance and next to Marriott, which is a Hop on/Off bus stop, so again convenient. The price is so advantageous compared to the big centre stage hotels and yet still so close. Really good.

There is a mini mart on rear of same block and an Urban Cafe opposite for food bits and value breakfast. The Loden Hotel Restaurant which is excellent is just one block behind, which you can access easily by turning right out of level two bar of hotel.

Coast Coal does not though have a social lobby scene, its austere and the bar restaurant is stand alone . that said the staff there are equally fun and good service prevails throughout. The food menu looks good and drinks all great.

Rooms...beds are too soft for us, but all very clean and modern. Good eco policy and friendly housekeeping. No fridge in room, which is a real nuisance, as not enough milks etc for tea/coffee. no storage for cold water drinks. Small hotel, so a close location to elevater for all rooms, so if that bothers you could be a problem, for us it meant we did not have a half mile walk on getting in and out, we liked it!

We would stop here again, excellent package for price paid.

Room Tip: Upgrades will ensure a higher and slightly larger room, water view with superior room/high floors on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
It was a pleasure having you with us, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations, service and restaurant. We would love the opportunity to host you again in which case we would make sure that there is a fridge in your room, we do have some available upon request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Coal Harbour , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.