We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coast Coal Harbour Hotel to your Saves list
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Coal Harbour)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Special Fall Offer
Ranked #15 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Balcony room on the 18th floor . Good view, clean, large and well decorated, comfortable bed... Loved the turndown service! Bathroom was gorgeous! Staff was friendly...overall our stay was great and we would definitely choose this hotel if we come to Vancouver again. The only thing I was not happy about was the free wifi. It was sketchy at best, and would kick me out while I was working. You could upgrade to a better service, but not the point. Please don't offer free service which was one of the reasons I chose this hotel and then make it inferior.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your review, good to see that you enjoyed our Hotel. We have some good news: the upgrade to our complimentary internet is being finalized as we speak, the speed has been increased tenfold and the change will take effect within the next couple of days!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    283
    54
    8
    8
See reviews for
189
351
81
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Okay, the view was of the city and not the ocean but our room had a floor to ceiling window that made a nice room seem even bigger. Great location if you want to tour around on foot. My wife did a lot of walking along the sea wall, to Stanley Park and through shopping areas. Nice restaurants by the water (we had a great meal at the Catcus Club). New but inexpensive furnishings, good wifi. You need a room key to operate the elevator. Parking is valet only and is $35 a night. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for the review and valuable feedback, nice to see that your stay with us was good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great location, entrances on two separate streets was really convenient
Clean, nice pool and hot tub
I wouldn't spend the extra $$ on the upgrade
Upgraded room was pretty barren of furniture to make it feel homely for extended stays!

Room Tip: waterfront views obviously
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel for value and exceptional services.Front Desk was very helpful in defections to Horseshoe Bay by delivering sheldue a to room. Had a problem with entry room card and front desk came up to room to make sure that card worked after she rebooted it. ( I believe it demagnify from magnets in my purse) The hotel is locate a block from the water front and a boutique grocery store along the way therefore indulging a coffee to take to shoreline to watch runners on the waterwall in the morning was very relaxing way to awake to the City. My daughter a runner participated a run in the morning as there are many safe routes near by.I love the location of this hotel and the spacious lobby. I am from the country and really did not feel 'the rat race' of a city by staying here .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for the recommendation. Hopefully we had some good weather to accompany your coffee by the water!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were most pleased by the wonderful location of the hotel. It is a short walk to the waterfront, Stanley Park and all the shops. The check in was very smooth and the staff was very friendly. The room furnishing was modern and we were happy to have a partial water view though we did not expect one. The hotel was very clean and quiet. The restaurant in the hotel has decent food and great ambience. If you are looking for a pleasant, upscale hotel without the unnecessary frills (e.g. microwave and refrigerator) and a great location, I would recommend the Coast Coal Harbour. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel in April and the staff were delightful, from check in to check out. The restaurant servers were very good, breakfest turned into a two hour business meeting and we were never once made to feel rushed. That same space transforms to a lunch and dinner spot as well as a nice cozy lounge with a nice selection of sprirts and beer. The proximity to the waterfront is a big bonus as you can walk to the Vancouver Convention Center with ease as well the proxity to the Sky Trains including the Canada line. If you are wanting to visit the North Shore the Sea Bus terminal is a short walk also it lets you off at Lonsdale Quay a great little market spot with interesting litte shops and fresh products vendors.

The hotel room itself was very clean nicely appointed for a hotel and the bed was very comfortable. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are larger the the basic and I would recommend the added expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We very much appreciate your review; it is nice to see that you enjoyed our city and the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel when I was in town for the Vancouver Marathon. We chose it because it was downtown and conveniently located by the finish line but had no idea what phenomenal customer service we'd receive! When we checked in, the frost desk associates were extremely friendly and genuinely seemed to enjoy their job. During our stay we asked the front desk staff various questions ranging from the subway, to bike rentals in Stanley Park, to kayaking, to the best ice cream shops downtown. They always excitedly gave us recommendations, directions, and coupons. One of the associates even went so far as to print us directions to her personal favorite kayaking destination. Our maid was also extremely friendly and always cheerily greeted us in the hallway every morning. And...one day in the elevator I was greeted by a man who was working and he offered me a bottle of water and a piece of chocolate from the boxes on his palette. I have never stayed in a hotel with employees who as friendly and as helpful as the employees as Coast Coal Harbour. The rooms were also extremely clean and up-to-date. This is the best city city overall hotel experience I've had - and I travel a lot!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Coal Harbour , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.