We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at Coal Harbour, great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Coast Coal Harbour Hotel to your Saves list
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Coal Harbour)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Excellent stay at Coal Harbour, great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights when attending a convention in Vancouver. What a great experience! Hotel has a great location, room was just perfect, very clean and spacious. Complimentary wifi and excellent business center are definitely a great plus. The staff was really helpful and polite.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing our Hotel, we very much appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    302
    57
    8
    8
See reviews for
194
366
85
261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights, we had a superior king room (1810) which had a great view of the mountains and the harbor! You could see the seaplanes take off and land, as well as see the Stanley park cannon go off at 9pm each night. Also at night, this room would give a nice view of the lit up ski fields up the mountain. So 10/10 for views. The room itself was large, very clean and a great bed. The floor to ceiling windows made the room feel very light and also added to the views. Walking distance to most places, we walked to Stanley park, Robson Street, Canada Place and Gastown from the hotel (just watch out for east Hastings street near Gastown, just alot of homeless people in that section). Room service was decent, but I would recommend checking out some of the great restaurants around. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Would stay again!

Room Tip: If you want a nice view of the mountains and harbor try 1810.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your review, nice to see that you enjoyed the city and our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel is centrally located, a few blocks from Robson street and block from the water.
Stayed here on business, so it provided all the essentials for what was needed.
clean, standard room.
My room had 2 double beds, My feeling is they should put 2 queens. It would be tight for a family of 4.
friendly and quick service.

Room Tip: looking north so you can see the sea planes landing in the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing our Hotel, we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here on a three day stop over on our way from Germany to New Zealand. We had never been to Vancouver and therefore wanted to stay somewhere central. The hotel is very modern in an area with recently built upmarket apartment highrises. The harbour is one street away. Walking distance to Canada Place approx. 5-10 minutes. The hotel itself does not have a breakfast room. However, there is a lovely bistro/café just across the street which offers great breakfast and also some dishes for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. Good to see that you had a nice stay. We do serve breakfast in the Hotel in Prestons restaurant located on the second floor, sorry you missed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed one night and checked in early around 3:30pm , and the staff was very
prompt and quick with my reservation. provided a great room overlooking the mountains.
Room was clean, modern and very close to waterfront, and Canada place and a few
blocks from Robson Street. Had breakfast at Preston's , the Hotel Restaurant, and staff
were prompt friendly and food was served as expected and looked and tasted great. The only minor issue was fruit flies around while I was dining and hope they get the issue sorted out.
Otherwise the stay was great and no complaints on the service, stay , or quality of food and the room.

Room Tip: request room North facing the mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing our Hotel, we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Loved the staff at this hotel! They were wonderful and accommodating. The rooms were clean and beautiful. The beds were comfortable. We had a wonderful view too! Exercise room was clean and had a lot of options. The only negatives were that we could easily hear the people in the room next to us. Luckily they were not too noisy, and I brought earplugs anyway. Also, the bathroom lighting isn't the best for applying make-up. The valets were super helpful and friendly too and let us keep our car parked in the garage even after we checked out. Loved that Wi-Fi was included in the price of the room and worked without problems.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, nice to hear that your stay went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night. Great check in, less than 3 minutes and up the elevator. Room with a great view. Clean with modern furnishings. Would stay again without hesitation. Hotel is only a few blocks from shopping and to the seawall around Stanley Park.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you, we are happy to see that your stay with us was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Coal Harbour , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.