We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stylish new hotel...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Save Saved
You added Coast Coal Harbour Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 96 hotels in Vancouver
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“stylish new hotel...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The furniture i new and the view side ocean and city is quite nice
but the bathtub is old even if efforts are made to make it look new...

i did not like the 3 waste bins for recycle in the middle of the room
the room is large and the bed good to sleep in really good sleep quality

the bathroom need kind of lifting
but very good value

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for the review and valuable feedback. The reason for the three recycling bins in the room is that we are an environmentally friendly hotel, striving to keep atop of the latest trends in an effort to make our guests comfortable and at the same time, working towards a carbon footprint free hotel. We have a zero waste management policy for the entire hotel, nothing goes to the landfill, we use biodegradable cleaning supplies and local and organic food products are identified and used as much as possible. This is why our Hotel has a Green Key rating of 4 out of 5. The building itself is only three years old and we make every effort to keep up with the day to day maintenance. Thank you again, we hope to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    535
    209
    41
    7
    5
See reviews for
146
274
68
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Coast Coal Harbour several times. The rooms are very nice and well set up with lots of amenities. The hotel is very centrally located in the downtown business centre, which we like whenever we visit Vancouver as it is easy walking distance from shops restaurants and transit. The only downside is the high cost of parking so if you can take transit in it will save money. The staff at the front desk are very helpful and are able to give directions and assistance. We needed some directions to a local restaurant and we appreciated not just the directions but some comments on the restaurant as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbour and mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
It is nice to see that your stay with us is always enjoyable, thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I recently spent a week in this hotel with my partner. First impressions of the hotel are great, the main lobby is impressive and was impeccably clean. The staff on front desk when we checked in were polite, friendly, and very accommodating.

We stayed in a Superior Room, which again was very clean. The view of the the mountains from our window was amazing - coming from a small industrial city in England, waking up to the sight of mountains and a harbour every day was a real treat. The bathroom was a very nice size, well decorated and suitably equipped. The bed was huge and very comfortable, and if I thought I could have gotten away with stealing the duvet I definitely would have!

The location of the hotel is great as it seemed everything was within walking distance. Surrounded by good coffee shops, and only a short walk away from the main tourist attractions, the location is definitely ideal for tourists wanting to explore what this incredible city has to offer.

I have to say the thing that really sold this hotel for me was the staff on the front desk, in particular Jeremy Poster and Christin Tschacher. All of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, but Jeremy and Christin always seemed to go above and beyond to ensure we made the most of our time in Vancouver. They helped us with everything; from planning how to spend our days, to giving us tips on the best places to eat/shop, to how to go about getting a work visa should we ever want to move out there!

On our last night Jeremy even organised a special surprise for when we got back to our room - we found a bottle of wine, two glasses, and a note from the front desk telling us to enjoy our final night in their hotel. This wasn't just good customer service, this was exceptional kindness and made us feel like we were the only guests in the hotel. I can't speak highly enough of Jeremy and Christin, and sincerely hope their professionalism and commitment to customer service is recognised and acknowledged.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your review, nice to see that you enjoyed the beautiful city of Vancouver and our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, MB
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Recently spend three days on a business trip and conference. Room was very warm and inviting, as well super clean and quite. Room service was excellent and food was on time and hot.
Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The dining room staff were extremely friendly and make us feel like we were part of their family.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
It is good to see that your stay with us was enjoyable, thank you for the review and recommendation. We are looking forward to welcoming you back home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I registered late for a conference, so there was no space left at the conference hotel. What luck to have come across the Coast Coal Harbour! Great location: convenient to convention centre, shopping and Stanley Park. Friendly helpful staff. Umbrellas available gratis for those wet Vancouver days. Yummy room service although limited desserts; when I googled the hotel restaurant, room service was happy to bring a dessert from the restaurant menu though. Free wifi. Well-equipped gym and pool. The only thing that would have made my stay better would be if they had a make-up mirror in the bathroom. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The room is very nice, comfortable and clean. It is among the best hotels I have stayed in. The location is perfect. Downtown, next to gastown. Public transport is close by. The only disadvantage of the hotel is the parking. The parking fee is pretty high. But that has more to do with the location, than the hotel. I'm also not a big fan of valet parking. (I always feel hurried to get everything out of the car and I always forget something in the car.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for the review, it is nice to see that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed in this hotel with my girlfriend on a trip from England for just a week. On arrival the staff were extremely friendly and spent time advising us where the nearest places were for food etc. We did arrive expecting just one double bed in our room and found 2 beds in our room.. I went down to the front desk to question this and it seemed that our travel agent had booked it incorrectly and it was not the hotels fault. We were offered an upgrade to a King room on the 18th floor with an Ocean view for just $210extra, and it was well worth it. The views were incredible. We could see the ocean, city and the mountains perfectly (even on the days when we didn't have fantastic weather.. Rainy and cloudy, but still a beautiful view).

The staff on the doors were great and very helpful, opening the taxi doors for us and offering to carry any luggage we had with us, as well as being smiley and chatty.

Back to the front desk staff.. They were always extremely helpful and friendly, especially Jeremy Poster (Head Office, he deserves more than a gold star for the level of customer service he has provided to us during our stay, he was amazing!!)
Jeremy went above and beyond what he needed to do to provide us with outstanding customer service. He regularly helped us out on where to go and what to do with our day, even providing us with advice on tickets and places we should visit, including Grouse Mountain, Capliano Suspension Bridge, Granville Island and Stanley Park. He and even spent time writing down his personal recommendations on restaurants and bars, including Catch 122.

The beds were comfortable (maybe too comfortable at times, when we wanted to be up for an early day and couldn't get up!)
The rooms were clean, and were cleaned every day. Fresh bed linen and towels were provided along with new shampoo, conditioner, body wash, body cream and other complimentary bathroom nick nacks!
The room was quiet and we never had any disturbances from our neighbours or the lift. Peaceful :)
The room also came with a coffee machine and fresh coffee, tea, hot chocolate, herbal teas etc but we rarely used it as the coffee was too strong for our taste and being typically British, the tea wasn't now we like it! The hot chocolate however was good.

On our last day we arrived back to a bottle of Merlot , 2 glasses and a card from Coast Coal Harbour Hotel saying "enjoy your last night from the Front Staff.. I couldn't believe it, it was such a nice surprise. Really lovely!

We, both together and individually have never received such a high level of customer service in a hotel.

During our stay in Vancouver we have constantly been saying we don't want to leave. How it's such a wonderful place and how everyone is so incredibly friendly here.. The Coast Coal Harbour staff have been a massive influencing factor on that and we will 150% be recommending it to our friends and family. If we come back again as a visitor then we will definitely be staying here!!!

Thanks for an amazing time and experience!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Cost Coal Harbour Hotel for your recent stay in Vancouver. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write the review about the hotel and our Ambassadors. Our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority and we are truly happy to see that we managed to make your visit to Vancouver more enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 96 hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.