We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, small setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nook

Nook
781 Denman Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2L6 , Canada (Downtown)
604.568.4554
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 2,789 restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $17 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Tigard, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food, small setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Nook Restaurant was recommended to us by locals. The food was very good and authentic Italian. Although the portions were not large, we were both satisfied after cleaning our plates. This is a VERY small restaurant, thus the name "nook." Get there early as it fills up quickly. The choices are limited. Would I go again...probably but I didn't think it was worthy of all the raves it got from locals.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    63
    29
    3
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Small but great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Someone from our hotel recommended Nook. We ate dinner here on a Monday night-it was full. We had the option for waiting for a table or sitting at a little bar area overlooking the chefs-as there was one couple in front of us who passed on the back area-we took it. It was a small seating area but the chef was talkative and we liked sitting there. I ordered wine/spouse had beer. We ordered one of their specials as an appetizer that was delicious! I had the gnocchi and my spouse had a pizza-we sampled each others. Both were great! Gnocchi was outstanding! Our server did a nice job and we thought the prices were reasonable. It is a small area but definitely worth the wait to eat here!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Treated terribly - left in tears”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We went to Nook (in Kits, not Denman but same owner) last night and have to admit had been looking forward to it. I should point out that the food was fine, but my wife's pizza didn't come out by the time the rest of us had finished eating, and we ate slowly, it was at least an hour since we had ordered it. We had checked with the server a couple of times and he admitted to first forgetting to enter it into the computer and then that the re-ordered pizza must have been sent somewhere else. To be fair our server was apologetic, but said it would be out in yet another 20 minutes.

I asked it we could have a free round of drinks while we wait and he fearfully said he'd have to check with the owner/manager. 2 minutes later he came back to say we could have the pizza for free but not any drinks. Since we'd all finished our drinks we'd have to buy another round of drinks just to wait 20 more minutes for the pizza!!

We said this wasn't acceptable and asked to speak to the manager.

The manager came to our table and told us it was illegal to give out free drinks and that we can either wait for the pizza or leave in a very rude and abrupt manner. We all stared at each other in surprise and told him to calm down and stop being so rude, which appeared to make him worse and we ended up having an argument in the middle of the restaurant which ended in my wife breaking into tears and leaving!! It was unbelievable.

We said we were leaving and were made to pay our bill before we did so. By the time the argument was finished and we had paid up we were walking out as the guilty pizza arrived in a box for us.

The owner didn't apologize or back down in any way.

I will never return to one of his restaurants and strongly encourage everyone else to avoid this guy as he is extremely unpleasant. I've put a picture of him on here so you can stay away from him.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Tough to get in, difficult to forget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

OK, so everyone talks about Nook as if it is "THE" place to be. Well it is! Tiny (seating for fewer than 30), crowded, noisy, cramped (they don't call it 'Nook' for nothing!) this is some of the best Italian cuisine in Vancouver. Forget about reservations, they never take them. Get you name on the board early and hang around to see if you are one of the lucky ones to score a pasta dinner that is really, really good! We ended up eating at the bar and the service, although slow (few diners, fewer wait staff) but very very friendly and helpful. Even got into an argument over politics with the guy sitting next to me at the bar. We disagreed about a lot, but not about the food at Nook. Just great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A great spot for friends or a romantic night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We literally stumbled upon this great little "nook" and were more than pleasantly surprised. The waitress was so friendly and helpful and the food was delectable. Good quality, fresh flavours and unique but pleasantly familiar at the same time.
The prices were very reasonable for the value...we will definitely return soon!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nook also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Nook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.