We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Third House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Third House Inn
Save Saved
You added Third House Inn to your Saves list
4117 West 10th Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia V6R 2 H2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 63 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Vancouver, B.C.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Charming Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were forced to look for alternate accommodation for our relatives--- well--- I was prepared to move in with them!
The rooms were very well appointed, with nice comfortable touches, the rooms facing north upstairs had a super view and were very quiet. And the hostess went the extra mile, a truly helpful person who served marvellous breakfasts. As well, she had a beautiful garden at back and front.
If you need a place close to UBC, buses and local shops, this is it.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
13
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed a week and it was probably the best B&B i have ever stayed in. Masses of information available, very well situated with bus stop at the door, spotless well-appointed rooms with full facilities and a friendly hostess who provided wonderful breakfasts! What more could one ask? Being in the best (West) it was quiet yet quick to get to CBD

We were even helped up and down the stairs with our luggage!

Absolutely A!+++

Room Tip: All rooms look good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This is a very relaxing place to stay. The set up is great-everything is well planned and executed. Genise is very friendly and helpful without being in your face. We loved the little sitting area on the second floor with coffee/teas and sherry!

Room Tip: There are two rooms on the second floor facing north-you have a peek-a boo view of the ocean. One ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Genise is the perfect host, she makes you feel welcome in Vancouver and her rooms are verry cosy. We stayed downstairs in the basement; with two bedrooms, a kitchen and a bathroom it is very private. Her breakfast were the best we had during our whole trip. No-one topped it!
The Third House Inn is located outside the citycentre but close to the beach which is excellent for an evening walk (take the car though as the way back is quite steep). In short: a place higly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

This inn sits close to UBC and Kits on 10th avenue, a bit of a thoroughfare. If you like inns and want to stay on the western edge of Vancouver, this is a good choice.

Very friendly and carefree owner. Large rooms that are comfy. views of the bay (over houses). You will feel like a local.

Room Tip: take the room upstarts with the king bed with the ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Genise was warm and welcoming. The house is beautiful, comfortable and feels like home. Our room was big and sunny, with a view to the ocean. The bed was cozy. The yard and garden are filled with many plants, trees and shrubs. Breakfast was served in a homey dining room filled with great artwork, next to a bright kitchen. And the food...absolutely delicious! There is a little sitting area on the second floor, where coffee and tea are always available as well as bookshelves filled with books and brochures about Vancouver and all the amenities it offers. Genise is very helpful regarding practical information about getting around and good restaurants. I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lion, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

While searching for lodging in Vancouver, I was given a recommendation for The Third House Inn. Since I prefer to stay in local accommodations instead of hotels, I made a reservation. This was just the perfect choice! Hidden behind hedges on a fairly busy street was a bed and breakfast that is like a 'secret garden'. Not only a beautiful garden but an attractive 1929 house where you're made to feel at home. Genise, the innkeeper graciously provides for not only your comfort both food and lodging, but stimulating conversations and helpful suggestions to make your holiday more rewarding. You don't feel like a guest but almost family. Now I can recommend this B & B with the same enthusiasm that it was recommended to me!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Third House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Third House Inn

Address: 4117 West 10th Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia V6R 2 H2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, colourful relaxing house and garden in West Point Grey area. The area has restaurants, coffee bars and specialty shops and is next to the University of British Columbia. The inn has large rooms each with private bathrooms, fresh buffet breakfasts, wireless internet, parking. Walking distance to sandy beaches of Locarno and Spanish Banks. On bus route to downtown and Vancouver attractions of Stanley Park,the Aquarium Gastown, China Town. Credit cards accepted. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Third House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.