We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality and great location. Would gladly return.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Third House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Third House Inn
Save
You added Third House Inn to your Saves list
4117 West 10th Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia V6R 2 H2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 63 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Hudson, Florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Excellent hospitality and great location. Would gladly return.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Our group consisted of my wife and I, my brother and his wife and our daughter and her family. We had the entire house to ourselves. The owner, Genise Gill, was very hospitable and an excellent host. Since no one else was there, she allowed our daughter and her family to have a two bedroom suite that was on the lower level. My brother had the room on the main floor and we had one of the two rooms upstairs. All had their own private baths. The beds were very comfortable. The house was very clean and well appointed. Wifi access, as well as a computer that was available. TV available, with cable.
Genise provided excellent breakfasts each day, as well as great conversation. Plenty of food. Muffins, casseroles, baked apples, cereals, fruit, juices, coffee, tea. It was excellent. She also has a wealth of knowledge regarding the Vancouver area and has been in the area for many years. She told us that the Lynn Canyon suspension bridge was very similar to Capilano and was free, so we all saved over $200.00 in admission fees and had an excellent time.
The bus stops right in front of the house. It goes directly downtown and getting around the city was very easy. There are excellent restaurants within walking distance. The beach is a short walk down the hill and provides a spectacular view of the city skyline.
I would recommend the Third House Inn for anyone visiting Vancouver.

Room Tip: We had the East Room at the top of the stairs and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
13
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Surrounded by unique botanical species this "older" urban home reflects Genise's eclectic style in gardening, decorating, and welcoming her guests. The gardens are a work of art which provide a sense of rural space in the centre of Point Gray, and the home and decor are funloving,friendly,a bit fanciful in appointments and all you would expect in comfort and cleanliness.
We enjoyed a marvelous breakfast with great coffee overlooking the garden.
B&B owners ourselves from Lillooet Lake we have stayed at many homes and have found this to be one of our best stays ever.
Thank you Genise for giving us your fine hospitality, we will be back !
Andy & Martha Mary Cochran

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fletcher, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

The Third House Inn was a fine place to stay in Vancouver. We arrived late when our host was out, but a helpful booklet she put together gave us the lay of the land and got us going.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumsden, Saskatchewan, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed for two nights. The room was clean and comfortable. Genise really pays attention to the details. The breakfasts were wonderful - lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, and whole grain foods. And Sunday is waffle day! We found the location central with good access to downtown and west/central Vancouver. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Just returned from a 3 day stay at the Third House Inn in Vancouver feeling totally relaxed and refreshed. I had been attending a 3 day conference at UBC and Genise helped to make it a wonderful experience. Breakfasts were sumptuous and this lady obviously enjoys cooking! She took the time from her busy schedule to make me feel welcome and at home in HER home. Exploratory suggestions and directions were right on and easy to follow and the accommodations were very comfortable. I would recommend this B&B to my friends any time. Thanks Genise, for making my stay feel like a real vacation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We had the 2 bedroom self catering suite which had everything you could need and more. Genise was very friendly and helpful and served great breakfast every day. Comfortable distance from downtown and close to neighbourhood shops/restaurants etc.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Wow! I had business at UBC and needed a pleasant place to crash after long days of talking science. 3rd House could not have been better. The hostess, Genise, is not only a lovely person, but is helpful and makes you feel at home, but she's not intrusive and gives you your space. She knows EVERYTHING you need to know to enjoy your time.

This is a comfy place. Clean and artfully appointed, without being cloying. Nice gardens around the house. The bed was firm and totally sleepable. The breakfasts were tasty with plenty of good food. At the same time, Genise has structured breakfast so that you can control how much you have. That's important if you are planning on eating again in this awesome food town. Locally, it's just two blocks down the hill from the West Point Gray shops and restaurants. Make sure that you try both Burgoo (comfort food) and Provence (reasonably priced gourmet Mediterranean fare).

Vancouver-wise, 3rd House is also a great location with buses to UBC, Kitsilano, and Downtown. It is easily accessible from the airport by public transportation (40-ish minutes) or a 20 minute taxi ride. I rented a bicycle for the week for a bit of exercise commuting to campus.

Must mention value, too. I had tried to stay at the UBC Hotel, but it was full. My hosts who saw Third House Inn and heard about the breakfast and other amenities told me how lucky I was to find such a nice place at such a good price.

Third House works well for a business stay. It would work equally well for a vacation stay. I've stayed with my family in Downtown Vancouver for a vacation and it was OK. But if we had known about 3rd House Inn ...

In any case, I'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Third House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Third House Inn

Address: 4117 West 10th Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia V6R 2 H2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, colourful relaxing house and garden in West Point Grey area. The area has restaurants, coffee bars and specialty shops and is next to the University of British Columbia. The inn has large rooms each with private bathrooms, fresh buffet breakfasts, wireless internet, parking. Walking distance to sandy beaches of Locarno and Spanish Banks. On bus route to downtown and Vancouver attractions of Stanley Park,the Aquarium Gastown, China Town. Credit cards accepted. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Third House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.