We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love eating on the terrace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MARKET by Jean-Georges, at the Shangri-La Hotel Vancouver

MARKET by Jean-Georges, at the Shangri-La Hotel Vancouver
1128 West Georgia - Level 3, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
604 695 1115
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
MARKET by Jean-Georges, at the Shangri-La Hotel Vancouver is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #109 of 2,844 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $20 - $81
Cuisines: Seafood, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Thurlow Street
Description: The Vancouver location, of the Paris original, is an unparalleled dining experience in Vancouver. Designed for understated elegant, yet relaxed contemporary dining that supports Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s renowned Modern Pacific style of cooking. The Restaurant: Refined Dining: OPEN 7 days a week Reservations recommended – Level 3
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I love eating on the terrace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The terrace is one floor up from the street so you can eat outside without car fumes. Excellent menu changes frequently. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    64
    34
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Wow,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Wow, chef Wayne Harris really does it right. The food was absolutely fantastic, service and plating were just as good. Highly recommended

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Celebrated a half century in style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband took me and our three adult children to dine at this popular restaurant in Vancouver for my 50th birthday. I looked forward to this for over a month and a half and was treated to a wonderful dining experience. The atmosphere was posh with white leather furniture and über sophistication. The service staff was very attentive and I liked the way all five of us were served simultaneously. The food was heavenly! We will definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Everything is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

It's good for family dinners, romantic late night drinks or a formal business lunch. That's what I like most about it; that it's flexible. The menu is not too creative. The execution the same. Nothing stands out in a good or a bad way. It's a hotel restaurant. A respectable one though and much much better than Yew. Overall, I always feel I get good value and walk away with a positive feeling.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Good, but not exceptional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This used to be one of my favourite restaurants in Vancouver. I often take clients their for lunch and occasionally for dinner. Food and service has generally been excellent. However, it seems like they have been changing up their fixed price set lunch menu to manage costs. Food is still good, but not up to the previous exceptional standards. Service remains impeccable although service was slow last week even though it appeared to be a slower day for them. Also, they are affected a bit by the noise from the demolition across the street.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon H, Manager at MARKET by Jean-Georges, at the Shangri-La Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. I regret to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been shared with the culinary team as we are always striving to improve and we would like to know what we could have done better for you and your guests. We would hope to see you dine with us again in the future so we may be given an opportunity to rectify the situation and show you the true Market experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MARKET by Jean-Georges, at the Shangri-La Hotel Vancouver also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to MARKET by Jean-Georges, at the Shangri-La Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MARKET by Jean-Georges, at the Shangri-La Hotel Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.