We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good casual Italian restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quercia

La Quercia
3689 West 4th Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia V6R1P2, Canada
604-676-1007
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 2,804 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A good casual Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We chose this restaurant for dinner as it had recently been awarded Best Casual Italian Restaurant in Vancouver. It is about 7km [4miles] from the CBD, but we found it easy to get to, and return, by taxi. The space is pleasant and our party of four did not find the noise level too high. We elected to have the kitchen choose our courses and they were happy to accomodate a food allergy of one of our group. Overall I would rate the food as good, with some courses excellent and others not so great. In hindsight, it may have been better to choose our own preferences from the comprehensive menu. The service was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    58
    10
    9
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Northwest
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I really wanted to like this place... I really did.

The food was a rolling ride of highs ( sweetbreads with porcini & gnnochi was sublime, veal tonnato was exquisite) and lows (squid ink risotto was under cooked, skate terrine was disjointed). But the main complaint in our group of 10 was the portion size of the dessert that you receive for the La Famiglia dinner (3 servings of lemon cream, 3 hazelnut torte and 3 scoops of sorbet for 10 adults?). A chef friend who joined us mentioned that it was maybe $100 worth of food costs for our $600 dinner.

Service was spotty. Our female hostess was warm and charming. I personally found the food runners to be quite rude, reaching in to serve or remove plates without as much as an acknowledge (almost bumping into me a 4 of times).

I can see myself returning for dinner as a party of 2 (or 4 tops) so that you can order a la Carte. I would recommend against dinning at this restaurant if your forced to go off menu and submit yourselves to the mercy of the kitchen.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Every dish was a surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We recently went for dinner at this quaint restaurant, with another couple. We loved the atmosphere, the wine and the food. The wait staff was attentive and very professional. I would go back tomorrow!

We decided to do the 7 course meal @ $45 per person. They don't tell you what they will bring out, it's a surprise! We loved it. There was only one dish that I wasn't too fond of, the squid, I love squid but I don't like the olives in the sauce. The other 6 dishes were great.

Great experience! Make sure you make reservations as far in advance as possible. This restaurant is popular but very limited seating.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“To good for Vancouver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just back from Italy and France and this place is comparable if not better than anything we had on our trip. Well done and keep up the imagination.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“NORTHERN ITALIAN FOOD AT ITS BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is the finest Northern Italian food in Vancouver. Adam and Lucais (the chefs) have both studied in Italy and it shows. Bellisima!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Quercia also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to La Quercia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quercia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.