We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant Again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quercia

La Quercia
3689 West 4th Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia V6R1P2, Canada
604-676-1007
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #187 of 2,816 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellant Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

We spent another enjoyable evening at this terrific restaurant. The food was very good and the service friendly and entertaining.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    11
    9
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Taste of Authentic Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Excellent choice for true Italian cuisine. Have ala carte and Family tasting menus. Pasta, steak, and fish were all superb! Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“It is about the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

If you want fine food this is the place if you are looking for ITALIAN.

I read the comments about bookings, and service and cocktails........this is not a hotel restaurant.

These guys do there thing well, it may not be for everyone, but if you want to experience what the kitchen chooses to share with you, and you are open minded then this is a win.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We purchase a gift card through Costco for this restaurant. We made our reservation over a month in advance for a Sat. evening, even calling back to advise that we had this gift card and asked if they needed the card number. We were told no, they did not need the number, just bring the card in with us.

Once seated by our waiter, we presented the gift card to him. He then informed us that it was not valid during peak times. No where on the certificate or on Costco's website is this detail mentioned. We informed the waiter that we were not told that we could not use this on a Sat. when the reservation was made. He said he would check with his manager and get back to us. After 10-15 minutes, he returned to tell us we could not use it. He actually rolled his eyes at me at one point when I made a comment expressing my disapproval of their decision.

My husband went to the back of the restaurant and asked to speak to the manager. He explained that we had driven in from Langley, had not been informed of the restricted time use for the card, etc. The manager told my husband that since he was a "nice" guy, he would let us use it. I guess he wasn't such a nice guy when he sent his waiting staff out to tell us we couldn't use it!
Although it was a little uncomfortable for us and our waiter, we did stay to dine. Some of the food was just average, some was quite good. They short changed us by a course or two as the certificate was for 10-11 courses and they served just 9 including bread. Not so nice after all.

I know Costco is a reputable company. If in fact the gift card is only acceptable on week days, this should be indicated on the certificate and on the Costco website. We have twice purchased these gift cards for another Italian restaurant in Vancouver and have had excellent service and food on both occasions. Lupo will remain our favourite restaurant in Vancouver and we will not return to La Quercia due to their unprofessional attitude.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“good food, hard to get in, poor cocktail list”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My husband and I shared the 7 course setting - good quality food. So disappointed when asked for the cocktail list- had one but conveyed to the waiter twice that the list was too small and not to my liking, No effort to make me something else - just a shrug.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Quercia also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to La Quercia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quercia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.