We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Campagnolo

Campagnolo
1020 Main Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6A 2W1, Canada
604-484-6018
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #609 of 2,831 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Food, Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had the pizza and cannelloni and have tried the chicken and fish before. Carbs are not the best thing to eat after a fast 10K walk but the thin crust pizza was both filling and very authenticly Italian. The caneloni was a bit light on meat. The chicken and fish were excellent. Although the restaurant was busy the staff were very attentive.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    30
    17
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
vancouver bc canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“ok food in a lively setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very nice service, but the food needs some care. The croutons in the salad (an interesting and somewhat surprising mix of greens) were stale and soaked with oil, the breadcrumbs on the asparagus were the same. The asparagus was perfectly cooked though. The cannelloni was nicely flavoured but the pasta wasn't cooked enough - too chewy, and I mean chewy. Reading other reviews I see someone else found the spot prawns mushy. Luckily they were a small part of the rigatoni dish I had, but it's disappointing. The flavour of the dish was fine. Mushy prawns are about the prawns, not about how they are cooked, so they should be asking their suppliers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing Spot Prawn Boil”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I am only commenting on the Spot Prawn Boil - but was rather disappointed in the end. While I enjoyed the time with my friends at the long table, the quality of the food was surprising. More than half the spot prawns I ate where mealy/doughy - when they should have been firm and sweet. I know this can be an issue with larger prawns - but I expected better from the chefs at Campagnolo. Even the andouille sausage felt overcooked/dry. I was also taken back with the number of spawning spot prawns (filled with roe) - which according to the David Suzuki foundation - should have been released at catch - which makes me question the source of the spot prawn. A number of my friends came away still hungry. On the bright side, the beer was good and the rice pudding I had for desert was great. While I don't like posting poor reviews, for the price of the event, our group was very disappointed and will not be returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, professional service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had a wonderful family dinner - celebrating a move, as well as month of strict paleo diet. If you know what paleo is, then you know that pizza is not on the list. However, to celebrate we chose Campagnolo and their wonderful pizzas, which followed a very, very substantial platter of salumi - house made of course. The chicken liver pate was the biggest hit, but all were very good, particularly because they were made in house. I found the staff to be knowledgeable and professional. And contrary to the comment by an earlier poster, I did not come away hungry. We were stuffed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sad to say ..... came away hungry.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Six adults shared two salads, the salami plate, risotto, cannelloni, chicken dish, pork dish, margarita pizza and gnocchi dishes. Serving sizes are very small (someone mentioned appetizer size) although the food was good. Chicken and pork mains come with nothing else aside from a small garnish. Service was decent although they state that due to kitchen size not all plates will arrive at the same time so be prepared to eat alone if one is ordering pizza and one is ordering a meat dish. They will arrive at different times. First time and last time for Campagnolo's for me.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Campagnolo also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Campagnolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campagnolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.