We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happened?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Speakeasy On Granville

Speakeasy On Granville
921 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
(604) 685-5531‎
Update restaurant details
Ranked #1,351 of 2,714 restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
1 review
“What happened?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Visited the speakeasy in september 2012 and also january 2013.
The first time we had an awesome breakfast, huge selection, large portions, pretty cheap for the amount of food we got. Probably one of the best eggs benadict i've had.
Unfortunately we headed back there to have breakfast again when we we're in vancouver recently and really wished we hadn't, the menu had decresed by at least two pages, we were told they don't do any changes to the menu although after consulting the chef was able to add a few things (at a cost). The portions were way smaller, and cold. The hashbrowns which we loved the first time were terrible.
Don't know what happened Speakeasy, change back!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

42% Recommend
    6
    3
    4
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst experience in Vancouver!! Do not eat here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My sister and I paid an over $200 bill one evening prior to going to a show at the commodore ballroom. We were literally CHASED down the street after we were in line at the commodore as the staff thought we had not settled our bill and FORCED us to walk back to the resaraunt with them to settle EVEN THOUGH our husbands were still at the bar at the same table!!! They totally embarrassed us, and as compensation offered us a free shot...sounds like a slap in the face if you ask me... Punch line..the girls they Mistook us for, did not skip their bill but just moved to a different table in the resaraunt. DON'T EAT HERE!!! Very unprofessional!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
“Another Gin Joint. Good Large Screen Sports Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Nothing spectacular, but good enough. Another of many sports bars with decent pub fare, but the ample TVs are a plus. It's interesting in reading the reviews how subjective and varied are the individual experiences with this bar, especially the service. As I mentioned, I found the place to be decent enough and at least when I was there, the bartender was friendly, attentive and competent. If the service held up and if I lived in the neighborhood this would become one of my go-to places for serious sports watching.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Place to Hang Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Whenever I am in Vancouver visiting family I always like to meet up with friends at the Speakeasy. It has a fun atmosphere and the service is usually friendly. They have the best yam fries in town and their other dishes are pretty good too. When possible we like to sit outside on their small terrace for people watching.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Tried the newer Speakeasy on West Broadway...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Speakeasy is now on West Broadway in addition to the Granville street location. I tried the West Broadway version and wasn't impressed. While the menu looks ok, the execution is poor. I ordered the 8oz rib eye and it was disappointing - tiny, overcooked and underseasoned. It was a hastle getting fries instead of the mashed potatoes. The fries, incidentially, were not good - mcCain superfries. The best thing on my plate was the uninspired chunks of underseasoned veggies. My 3 other friends had a similar experience with the food, despite getting different dishes. The service was indifferent and slow despite the restaurant being mostly devoid of guests. I'm guessing this place will be ok for drinks / snacks to watch a game (as their are lots of good tv's) but for dinner or lunch, I'll take a pass.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speakeasy On Granville also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Speakeasy On Granville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Speakeasy On Granville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Speakeasy On Granville to your Saves list