We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of English Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added English Bay Hotel to your Saves list
English Bay Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 Denman Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2M9, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Beijing
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is a very basic hotel that wouldn't suit everyone; however, it met our needs quite nicely. Although a bit rundown, the location is great and the price is quite reasonable for the area. Our suite (5 person) had a kitchen and separate bedroom where we could put our baby to sleep early and continue to stay up. We found the staff helpful and nice. We left valuables in our room and had no problems. Also, parking was available at $11 a night. We choose a room at the back and it was very quiet.

Negatives: Not modern, a bit rundown and not as clean as a 5 star hotel. The parking lot is pretty hard to get into, you have to drive down a narrow steep ramp and the lot itself has quite a few posts in it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    43
    30
    10
    9
See reviews for
34
33
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Vernon, Washington
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

There were 5 of us staying here Aug 18, 2012, there was a bedroom, and two beds in the living room. It had a kitchen, which we didnt make use of, other then coffee maker. 1 cheap bag of coffee.
The staff were fine at check-in.
Yes, there are some worn out items in the place, shower okay, plenty of thin towels, soap and shampoo. It is not a 3, 4 or 5 star hotel, we knew that, but for a inexpensive stay, we would likely stay again. The price is very competitive, location great, so it worked for us.
Keep this in mind when booking, and you will know what type of hotel it is.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

First of all, what the English Bay Hotel is not: it is not a 4-star hotel, so don't stay here if you must have luxury. What it is: Clean and comfortable, with a full kitchen. Not at all elegant, but with everything you need in a super-convenient location. We had a queen-sized bed, table and chairs, dresser, chest, etc., plus a full kitchen with large refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, and dishes. (Coffee was provided during our stay.) Good tub/shower with plenty of hot water. No air conditioning, but that was not necessary during our mid-August visit. Our room faced southwest, so we did need to close the draperies for a couple of hours on sunny afternoons. And late-night revelers can be a little noisy on the street-side rooms with the windows open. But our stunning view of English Bay was worth it. Helpful front desk, too. Plus, the lobby is constantly monitored, so it feels very safe. (Not that the location is unsafe; it isn't. Just around the corner from the Best Western Sands.)
If you want value for your hotel dollar in Vancouver, the English Bay Hotel should be at the top of your list.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a little street noise, ask for a room with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Were looking for a reasonably priced hotel close to Stanley Park and this ticked the box. The hotel is a little run down but the room had a kitchen which would be useful if you were staying for more than one night. Room was clean - linen and towels were a little on the thin side but were clean. Easy to get to downtown using the buses. Not quite sure why they needed an imprint of our credit card when we had already prepaid. For the price we paid I would say that it was a fair value for Vancouver City - they also offer larger rooms for families.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a sea view otherwise you are looking out over the tops of other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The room was spacious and clean, but very basic. The building is older, and the parking underground has such a steep ramp! It was fine for our needs, as we wanted somewhere clean and just needed a hotel room for one night, at a decent price. The location, however, was great! Right by English Bay beach, you can walk there easily and enjoy the views and beautiful sunsets. Plenty of shops and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The location of this hotel is wonderful, an easy walk to Stanley park and we had a view on the ocean. The rooms are apartment style big with a kitchen, no breakfast included. There is a parking underneath the hotel (VERY steep ramp). The staff was very vriendly. One minor "complaint" there was a kinda odd smell in the hotel, like a pesticide was used. But the room was clean and thats what counts.
If you are a light sleeper..we stayed there over the weekend and it was packed with people outside, making lots of noise, but after midnight it suddenly became really quiet.
Convenient..there's a starbucks nearby for your early morning coffee :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Well, I know now that Vancouver hotels are very pricey, but I'd pay more just to have comfort, quiet, cleanliness and satety. Peeling paint, hard beds, no ability to adjust any heat or coolness, except for a plastic fan in the room; not even a box of kleenex tissues to be found in the room; street noise and light is abundant from the west side; a hollow core panel door with NO security lock, no deadbolt lock, and the simplest of sliding chain for security. Oh gosh.... for $144 a night: we had four hotels in 8 days in Seattle and Vancouver, this was the most expensive and by far the poorest quality room we experienced. Next time I'll spend more and not stay here!

Room Tip: Wow, use priceline bidding for a better deal than we got!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to English Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Bay Hotel

Address: 1150 Denman Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2M9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — English Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your English Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage English Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.