We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Place to Sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Vancouver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel Vancouver to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Vancouver
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 Howe Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1R7, Canada (Formerly Quality Hotel - Inn at False Creek)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 Trips, 1 Night Free*
Ranked #68 of 97 Hotels in Vancouver
Brantford, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fine Place to Sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Having stayed in many Quality Hotels during our road trip through the rockies, we were a bit disappointed with this location. Our room was pretty small and the bathroom still had the previous person's soap and stuff in the shower. The staff at the front desk did not seem very knowledgeable about the area or very interested in helping you figure out how to get around. Gotta say that the location was great and I do think it was good value for the money, you just get what you pay for.

I realize this was not their fault, but there is construction going on that woke us up around 7:00 every morning. Probably a short term problem, but just a heads up if you are planning to stay there this summer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    185
    104
    31
    19
See reviews for
90
158
40
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We chose this hotel because of where it is and also for the price. We had a twin room with queen size beds. The room had a nice brick wall which gave it a bit of character. The room is pretty basic. TV, tea and coffee making facilities (kettle found in wardrobe), ironing board (the usual). Bathroom let it down a bit as was old and dated, the fan was quite noisy, the light gave off an awful lot of heat, and the bottom of the door was cracking from constant exposure to the humidity. The bathroom was also quite small so if you are a large person you may struggle - however much larger than bathrooms in cities like Paris.

All in all you get what you pay for. The beds are comfy, and we slept well. There is currently construction work going on outside the back of the hotel, which started at 8am but this did not bother us, and if you are going to make the most of Vancouver or are on business you'll be up by then anyway. The staff were friendly and helpful and ordered taxis for us when needed. They offer tea in the rooms, but only powdered creamer, when we asked for milk in the restaurant they were happy to provide it free of charge (even though the concierge said they might charge). The hotel lobby and waiting room looks modern, but as other reviews have said, the hallways look a bit tatty and could do with a bit of a reno.

We didn't eat in the restaurant for breakfast or dinner so cant comment on that, there are some nice places nearby for breakfast so we chose those as they are slightly better. You walk from the Hotel to Granville island although it is quite a walk and not very clear for the route there, so it is worth looking in to getting the Aquabus. You can also get down to false creek from the hotel and walk along it to Stanley Park which is lovely in nice weather.

If you aren't bothered about fancy hotels, or to be honest, just can't afford it, this hotel offers a comfortable base for you to explore Vancouver. Close to nice restaurants (check out my other reviews) and Granville Island.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms 306 - 312 as the ice machine is quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, India
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

I'm surprised that Quality Hotel / The Inn at False Creek has received a bunch of pretty poor reviews here. I stayed for 4 nights and thought the stay was very comfortable, the location great, and the staff friendly. The rooms were nice and clean, with brick walls making them feel quaint. The bathroom was alright, though a bathtub would've been nice.

The location is one of the best parts - 15 minute walk to the Sky train and Canada line stations, the Canada place waterfront, 7-11, Robson street, and lots of nice cafes and restaurants.

The only downside was the breakfast - same on all days and nothing to write home about.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityVanGM, General Manager at Quality Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We trusted this trip advisor website too much this time. I don't understand how this hotel could have any good reviews. The location is great, very close to the best features of Vancouver BC, but the hotel is very old, extremely dirty, and smells horrible.

We considered walking away from this place and paying the extra $280 to find a room in any other hotel downtown. This was my worst hotel experience and I've done a lot of business trip around the world.

Our rate was about $129 but came up to about $190 once you add the undisclosed taxes and the $18 a day parking fee. I recommend you spend a little more and avoid the experience of a dark dirty carpet, dirty moldy bathrooms and moldy swimming pool which was out of service. This place is only workth it if they five it to you for $35 a night. I would compare it to a $35 motel and I'm being very generous.

I hope this helps someone avid what we had to experience here.

Room Tip: Pay a little more to stay in any other hotel in the area, there were beautiful buildings all around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityVanGM, General Manager at Quality Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Vancouver. We do our best to accommodate all of our valued guests. We are surprised by your comments and wish you would have brought your concerns to our attention while you were at the hotel. All our staff take price in providing clean and comfortable accommodations for our valued guests.
The provincial taxes and fees are 16.50% on all guestrooms; gated underground parking is $18 plus the applicable taxes and transit levy per night. We do our best to ensure resellers including online agencies disclose all of the information regarding our hotel including taxes and fees.
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and wish we had an opportunity to correct them while you were staying with us.

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

About a 10 min walk uphill from the Yale town sky train stop. About a 20 min walk to pacific center shopping. So you decide if close or not. Rooms were clean but tired - stayed in a suite on top level. Breakfast was very good and good service throughout hotel by all staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityVanGM, General Manager at Quality Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to your return visit

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great location in Yaletown, staff were incredibly friendly and knowledgable about the area as well as taxi prices and public transport links. Only 2 blocks from the aqua bus and within 20minutes walk of the waterfront and Gastown. The rooms were very clean and the beds were very very comfy. Only drawback is that there are mass amounts of construction works going on Drake street which start around 7:30 in the morning, the windows block out some but not all of the sound.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityVanGM, General Manager at Quality Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us.

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at the hotel as part of a large group on a geography field trip.
The staff were very helpful to our needs and always polite
The rooms were of a good quality and always kept clean by the maid.
The only fault was the shower which was so powerful, it hurt to stand under for too long!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the road side of the hotel, despite having good views, were quite noisy in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityVanGM, General Manager at Quality Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us.

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Vancouver

Address: 1335 Howe Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1R7, Canada (Formerly Quality Hotel - Inn at False Creek)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 97 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Vancouver 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 7 story hotel located two blocks from the Seawall and across from the vibrant arts community and public market of Granville Island. Surrounded by all major attractions, world class shopping, dining and entertainment districts including Yaletown, Gastown and Chinatown tourist areas. the sophisticated guest rooms are 100% non smoking and offer a comfortable and affordable elegance. This property features an onsite restaurant open for breakfast and dinner, as well as a cozy lounge open nightly for cocktails and snacks. Internet is wireless and complimentary, and in the summer months the heated outdoor pool will be open. This property is pet friendly and also offers apartment style extended suites for long stay accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Canada, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At False Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.