We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb sashimi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro

Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro
833 Granville St., Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
604-687-6622
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Bistro, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Robson Street
Transit: We are located one block from major public transit stops. Downtown bound buses travel north on Seymour (just east of us) and Outbound buses travel south on Howe just west of us. Using the Sky Train? Closest Stop is the Pacific Centre Mall; just 1 1/2 blocks to our north. Numerous taxis can be found up and down Granville entertainment corridor.
Belgium
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Superb sashimi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

At the suggestion of our hotel, we dined at Shuraku. Wow ! A sashimi platter to remember, and outstanding sushi also. The place is run with true Japanese hospitality (even though the decor is 99pct western). It was so good we came back two days later for lunch (sashimi again).
Located on Granville, just off Robson ... Quite convenient, but in a 'high traffic' area.
Limited wine list but rather extensive list of sake. I would certainly recommend this place to anyone. Excellent value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    35
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The sushi was delicious! Their sake menu is rather extensive which is great if you know about sake. But if you just want some house sake at a reasonable price they don't have it and if they do have reasonable priced sake its buried in the menu. I do wish the waitress had been more helpful on finding a sake. We ended up with Beer instead.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“You can do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I don't know what the fuss is about with this place. It's on a dodgy block of Granville, the patio offers an intimate relationship with the Translink trolley bus, an overflowing waste bin and some fairly colourful neighbours.

The food is good but not great. The sushi is fresh but there's nothing particularly creative about it. The ling cod is horribly overcooked and tastes like a dress shield. Too bad; it's normally a lovely bit of fish.

Service is good but not great. The decor is nice but not gorgeous. For the same money, you can eat better on Robson.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Put this one on your "bucket list"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I ate Japanese food in Japan for two and a half years while working there, and Shuraku comes closest to its Japanese counterparts in quality, service, and atmosphere. The izakaya style food was fresh, seasoned perfectly, and each plate was easily enough for two. The sweet soy lotus root was delicious, as was the shrimp and vegetable tempura. The volcano sushi roll was not only delicious, but presented as a volcano (see photo). We had Japanese beer and sake and four dishes for a reasonable price. If you enjoy Japanese food, go to Shuraku.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Japanese place on Granville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

For good down home food on Granville, I suggest dining at Shurake Sake Bar & Bistro. The service is great with the authentic Japanese customs and courtesies.

Go with miso soup, wild mushroom salad, kogomi, avocado rolls, mushroom ohitash, live spot prawns, kuro macha, genmaicha, ebi gyoza, tuna isobe ago and salmon teryaki - all balance between veggies and proteins.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.