We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put this one on your "bucket list"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro

Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro
833 Granville St., Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
604-687-6622
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 2,714 restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Bistro, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Robson Street
Transit: We are located one block from major public transit stops. Downtown bound buses travel north on Seymour (just east of us) and Outbound buses travel south on Howe just west of us. Using the Sky Train? Closest Stop is the Pacific Centre Mall; just 1 1/2 blocks to our north. Numerous taxis can be found up and down Granville entertainment corridor.
Pensacola, Florida, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Put this one on your "bucket list"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I ate Japanese food in Japan for two and a half years while working there, and Shuraku comes closest to its Japanese counterparts in quality, service, and atmosphere. The izakaya style food was fresh, seasoned perfectly, and each plate was easily enough for two. The sweet soy lotus root was delicious, as was the shrimp and vegetable tempura. The volcano sushi roll was not only delicious, but presented as a volcano (see photo). We had Japanese beer and sake and four dishes for a reasonable price. If you enjoy Japanese food, go to Shuraku.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    43
    23
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Japanese place on Granville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

For good down home food on Granville, I suggest dining at Shurake Sake Bar & Bistro. The service is great with the authentic Japanese customs and courtesies.

Go with miso soup, wild mushroom salad, kogomi, avocado rolls, mushroom ohitash, live spot prawns, kuro macha, genmaicha, ebi gyoza, tuna isobe ago and salmon teryaki - all balance between veggies and proteins.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Expected better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Tried Shuraku for lunch a few times mostly because a friend and colleague really likes this place. I think the location is great and the restaurant is nicely decorated, unfortunately, the food is kind of average and not great. I'm sure that I'll be back but not because I pick the place, hppefully I'll be more impressed next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellant sushi with a great selection of sake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This centrally located japanese restaurant serves up great sushi and their sake list is quite extensive, featuring bottles/glasses in all price ranges. We've eaten there three times now and have always been impressed with the sushi. We haven't tried much in the way of other traditional japanese fare, only the ebi gyoza, which quite frankly was a bit boring and they don't offer a standard pork gyoza alternative. Either way, if you want some great sushi, go here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Just a bit above average.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

The service is good.
The tempura is one of the best we've ever had.
The sushi, dynamite & volcano rolls were good but nothing special.
Atmosphere inside seemed fun but we decided to eat on the patio.
It was interesting watching homeless in the area doing tricks & asking tourists for money. It was interesting till they started coming & asking is while we're eating. It's not the restaurants fault, but it does make it uncomfortable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.