We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Okay. Down Memory Lane more that for taste!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of White Spot

White Spot
1126 S.E. Marine Drive, Vancouver, British Columbia V5X 2V7, Canada
(604)325-8911
Improve this listing
Ranked #808 of 2,789 restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $8 - $13
Restaurant details
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Consistently Okay. Down Memory Lane more that for taste!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Standard food, consistently average. More of an experience for those that grew up with it being a hamburger joint. Can't beat XXXOOO's.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

53% Recommend
    11
    12
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
BC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nothing special...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I've never been a big fan of White Spot but we decided to try it anyway - we had the Halibut Sandwich (not that great nor very big) and a BLT. Again, it was nothing special :(

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Between a fast food and a restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

White spot is neither a fast food nor a restaurant; it is the step in between. There is nothing special about that place; you just stop there if you are nearby and need to eat. The food and prices are ok. Last time I went I had a burger, it was ok, not bad, but I had better burgers at fast food restaurants in the past. I ask for half salad half fries on the side and the waitress (who was really nice and friendly) denied me that pretexting that they don’t do half half. First of all, how hard is it to do that? It’s not like they are a gourmet restaurant that uses a different pan for every order… The fries are probably cooked in bulk and ready to be put on the plate before we even order and obviously same thing for the salad. Then, since it is a family restaurant, it is not very smart because it doesn’t encourage kids to eat healthy…

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“White Spot Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The food quality & service are consistantly GOOD.
No surprises here - if you want value for your money and servers who care then this is the place.
In the 20 years I have been eating at White Spot I have only had one bad experience which the manager quickly fixed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst meal of our whole trip”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at the Coast Hotel and ate dinner at the White Spot on Marine Drive on our way to Hawaii. The food was disappointing. What turned it from just another expensive and poor quality restaurant meal was them charging us $5 extra for more macaroni for a kid's pirate pack (to supplement the meager portion that came with it). When we requested the extra charge be removed because we hadn't been informed of the cost when we made the request, the "manager" came and gave us a embarrassing display of how to mock your customers while pretending to "solve" the problem. A lot of nonsense about kids needing to order adult portions (he is 8 years old) and everyone else being happy with paying $5 for a tiny bowl of noodles. It was very unprofessional and our worst dining experience of the two weeks away.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Spot also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to White Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Spot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.