We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and well dosed ingredients cooked the real Italian style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cibo Trattoria

Cibo Trattoria
900 Seymour Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3L9, Canada
604.602.9570
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cibo Trattoria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #294 of 2,809 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Smithe (kitty-corner to The Orpheum Theatre)
Transit: SKYTRAIN. From Vancouver City Ctr Station (Canada Line) or Granville Station (Expo/Millenium Line). Exit on Granville and walk 2 blocks west (towards Winners sign). Turn left at Smithe and walk to Seymour. You'll see Uva Wine Bar at the corner. We're just on the right at 900 Seymour. Time: Approx. 10 minutes walking.
Description: Located in the chic Moda Hotel in the heart of downtown Vancouver’s arts and cultural district, Cibo Trattoria is the ideal destination for an enjoyable dining experience and memorable evening out in the city. True to the trattoria aspect of its name, Cibo’s 50 seat, cozy dining room is the perfect spot for any occasion or social gathering; where patrons enjoy casual, rustic Italian cuisine in a warm, inviting atmosphere.FRESH. ORGANIC. LOCAL. SEASONAL. Cibo Trattoria specializes in authentic Italian cuisine made with same-day fresh and local ingredients. Cibo is truly one of a kind when it comes to sustainability and the use of organic products; we are 100% committed to this movement.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fresh and well dosed ingredients cooked the real Italian style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We were shopping at Robson and couldn't find any decent looking restaurant when we finally arrived at this hidden gem. The bruschette were a bit different to the usual but for us they were a very positive surprise. The steak was delicious and the sides were cooked thoroughly. The pasta was cooked al dente an the sauce and meatball were clearly homemade and fresh. The service was good but can't keep up with the excellent food. Would recommend it to everyone who likes fresh Italian food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    32
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great dining experience with authentic Italian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Great Italian food and service. Awesome dining for pre-theatre, and we came back for dessert after the theatre, for the best in house Teramasous ever! Along with a night cap. Reservations recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Tasty Italian cuisine experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Went in a group for dinner. A nice and simple menu with of course Italian specialties. The Tagliatelle with beef and pork meatballs was nice and the pasta correctly cooked.
The wine list ha a good selection of wines from all over the world at affordable prices.
A good dinner experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Langley, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good ambience and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Cibo Trattoria offers Italian cuisine in the traditional Italian style with antipasto, prima and carne menu selections. The food is well prepared and nicely presented. Located across from the Orpheum Theatre, it's a very popular dining spot for people attending the theatre. Cibo offers a 3-course pre-concert set menu which is very tasty. The service was very good. The only thing I didn't like is that there is a $2 surcharge per person for water, not bottled water but tap water! Given that our bill was $100, this seemed a bit unnecessary. However that did not detract from our dining experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nouveau Italian cuisine?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Six of us (3 couples) went here because it was promoted in Cheap Eats Vancouver and served Italian. So we were a bit shocked when we saw the prices... they're not cheap, not exorbitant, definitely average... so much for our first motivator. We talked about the menu items and each ordered a primo. Two of us ordered gnocchi. We had a variety of bruschetta for starters. Here we got our first taste of the nouveau streak at Cibo. Not the traditional tomato/garlic/parsley bruschetta, nope, these were designer bruschetta. When it comes to food, if it ain't broke don't fix it. That maxim certainly applies to the bruschetta; 'creative' combinations of elements that to my palate just didn't work well. My jaw dropped when the server arrived with my meal... two small cakes garnished with grilled broccoli and prosciutto. That's not the way my mamma made gnocchi! In fact it's not like any gnocchi I've ever seen! We learned later that they're made from semolina, Roman style, not the traditional potato base. I have to say they were tasty. My brother had risotto and the others a variety of pastas. The risotto was pretty good. The meatballs (with pasta) were very good. The other pastas were good too. I found the server a bit pushy in terms of up-selling which I never appreciate. The wine list is very extensive and on the expensive side. Not a lot of reds under $50. We had a great Valpolcella though. Another surprise was cover charge of $2 per person. In summary... good food but not what you'd expect.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cibo Trattoria also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Cibo Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cibo Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.