We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special, especially for kids” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paul's Place Omelettery Restaurant

Paul's Place Omelettery Restaurant
2211 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H3G1, Canada (Fairview)
+1 604-737-2857
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #398 of 2,763 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $0 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Fairview
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Nothing special, especially for kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I've been here a few times now because friends love to meet us here for brunch, but it's not really anything special. The service is always good and fast, but apart from that ....

This time my daughter ordered a scrambled egg which looked very much like an omelette to me. She took 1 bite and no more. I tasted it and I'm not surprised, it was overcooked and rubbery. For a breakfast specialty place, it's pretty mediocre. Also, apart from a few old books there isn't anything to keep kids entertained - no crayons at the table or anything like that. And there were lots of kids there.

I ordered a pancake and my husband ordered a veggie hash which was nothing special. The sad thing is that my husband & I could cook something better at home. When we eat out we want to have something that we couldn't normally have or at least is better than our own cooking.

Next time our friends our suggest meeting here for brunch we'll suggest somewhere else.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    11
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Cheese on the Bennie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

The traditional Bennie came with a cheese sauce that tasted a like cheese whiz

Egg shell bits in the eggs

Service prompt but unable to get a water refill

Probably not go back, underwhelmed

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dino A, Owner at Paul's Place Omelettery Restaurant, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Hi, I'm sorry about the shells, that's not like our guys in the kitchen, and I'm not sure what went wrong with the cheese sauce, it's a reason people come for the benny. Anyway thank you for giving us a try, and once again I apologize for the sub par breakfast,

Thank you,
Dino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“delicious breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting from out of town and stumbled across this place. Our server was really nice. He gave us money to put in the parking meter. The hostess, not so much. We didn't realize that you have to put your name on a list when you arrive. We kind of figured that part out. Breakfast came out fast. Good coffee too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Good breakfast, good coffee great price. You will wait in line on the weekend but it's worth it. Service is outstanding.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dino A, Owner at Paul's Place Omelettery Restaurant, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Hi, I just wanted to thank you for the raving review, I'm so glad you enjoyed your breakfast. Thanks again and hope to see you soon,
Dino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“a great breakfast find in Vancouver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Locals in Vancouver know what I just discovered - one of the best breaky places I've enjoyed in this city. I had a Florentine omelet with mushrooms, spinach and feta and it was ooooh sooo yummy. . Everything coming out of that kitchen looked so appealing and made from scratch.. Service seemed flawless, efficient, and transparent. Good value for the money. We had to wait to get in, but the sun outside felt so good - just wish they could have seating benches outside!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul's Place Omelettery Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Paul's Place Omelettery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paul's Place Omelettery Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.