We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow and off schedule” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Vancouver Trolley Company

The Vancouver Trolley Company
Vancouver, British Columbia V6A 2M9 , Canada
+1 604-801-5515
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$34*
and up
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Vancouver Trolley Company's Hop-On, Hop-Off City Attractions Tour is the easiest way for visitors to enjoy Vancouver's most popular areas, including: Stanley Park, Chinatown, Gastown and Granville Island. The tour features a live and informative commentary and 35 stops so you have the opportunity to learn what makes Vancouver such a spectacular and special city.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Slow and off schedule”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I wish I had checked the reviews earlier, then I would have been warned. At first it was quite convenient - a nice way to get to see a big part of the city and get a few tidbits pointed out along the way. But it turned out to be pretty slow and got off schedule quickly. Our first pickup was on time but the next time we had to hop on, it was at least 15 min behind schedule. Thankfully there was a bench we could sit on, unlike the next time, when we had to wait standing in the heat with another 30 unhappy passengers when it was 30+ minutes behind schedule (and not everyone waiting could even fit on the bus). Given that so many passengers are older, less mobile visitors, this was really not a good experience for fellow customers.

The drivers too are mixed. Some were great - probably 2 of the 4 we had. 1 was not good at all, constantly shushing the bus so that we would listen to his commentary about the city.

I've liked hop on hop off buses elsewhere but do not recommend this one.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    95
    74
    59
    53
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Seems as though they are consistent -- consistently off schedule!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Other than this company only prints schedules to make you think that you should be at a stop at a certain time of day (you'll be there, others with tickets will be there - the trolley will not be), and they have seats (based on their lack of comfort) which they must have purchased with the stage coaches of the 1800's went out of business - our decision to purchase our two day passes to see the sights of Vancouver was a good one. Vancouver is a beautiful and interesting city -- not even the Vancouver Hop on - Hop Off travel can diminish that ... but, you should consider another company to provide your transportation!!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland. UK
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Well worth getting the 2 day ticket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were extremely lucky to have the stop for the red trolley bus outside our rental building and the blue trolley stop just around the corner.
We started our first day in Vancouver off on the Blue loop bus which included a view into a Winery and through Gastown and down to Canada Place, where we changed to the Red loop bus. We got off the bus at the Rose Garden in Stanley Park and had lunch, we then had a lovely stroll through the park along the sea wall and to the Totem poles where we picked up the bus again through more fantastic sights of Stanley Park back to Canada Place.
We used our 2nd day ticket 3 days later, and took the full Red Loop bus from Canada place and back to there. We then had a break for lunch and the got on the Blue Loop bus, we stopped off at Granville Island and spent time wandering through the amazing market stalls and the views across Vancouver sea front.
Back on the blue loop to Library Square and a stroll along Robson Street.
We found the commentaries by all the drivers of these tour buses are personal, well informed and very lighthearted.
The 2 day ticket is well worth the price as your 2nd day can be used within 2 weeks of purchase.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Too slow!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We meant to get the big red bus tour of Vancouver but they Trolley tour came 1st and we figured they were all the same...how wrong we were. The trolley tour does two different routes (both quite slowly) and runs until about 4.30/5pm. We got the red tour around Stanley park, we got off twice to see the Totum Poles and Prospect Point. After our second stop we waited oer 1/2 hr to get another trolley. As the tours only ran until about 4.30/5pm we didn't have time for the blue route. We did use the boat voucher to go over to Granville Island which was a highlight.
All in all if you want to see all of Vancouver I would not use the Trolley Tour :-(

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good and bad drivers/tour guides”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We paid for one day of "hop on hop off" while on the second day of our trip to Vancouver.The first river was older probably in his sixties and he was very friendly and knowledgeable, but after about six stops he went for lunch and was replaced by a young driver who was not great at driving and he was distracted by talking to a group of Americans on board and seemed to forget his tour guide role for about three stops while all this friendly but irrelevant banter with the yanks was in progress. We therefore got off at the Granville Island stop and had a nice time there for an hour or so and then got on just to Chinatown and decided to walk around the rest of the sites we wanted to see rather than get on the bus again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vancouver Trolley Company also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Vancouver Trolley Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vancouver Trolley Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.