We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Enjoy our Romance Package
Ranked #9 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Great Service Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

I've had the pleaser staying at the Shangri-La on a number of occasions over the last few month with friends. I have always been impressed with the level of service and the friendly staff. The only thing that could be better is that the in room breakfast is hit and miss.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    144
    37
    20
    6
See reviews for
163
433
86
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

From the moment that we checked in for a recent 4 day stay we realised that the Shangri La was special. The lobby is discreet and elegant and the building is the newest high rise in town. The room was faultless and immaculate. The beds were very comfortable , huge Sony Bravia TV, espresso machine, great bath , premium shower products and very quick wifi. The staff were faultless and the lunch menu at the restaurant was remarkable value at $20 a person. Great location in the centre of Downtown within very easy walking distance to great restaurants and sights. I couldnt fault the hotel - except on recollection maybe the Flat Screen TV was a little large for the room !!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Just stayed an evening in a deluxe room - very large and well appointed - and beautiful bathroom. Was upgraded upon arrival based on Tablet Plus membership. Also had early check in and late check out. Much has been made of the underground reception/lobby for check-in/out. Definitely has advantages for those interested in privacy/discretion/quiet. I see it as a plus having experienced it firsthand, unless you like the hustle and bustle of many downtown hotels. But remember this is more of a boutique hotel - only 119 rooms - which caters to a more discerning traveler who isn't concerned with seeing and being seen. You don't have the general public in common areas, so hotel has a calmer aura about it. Great location - near excellent shopping and dining. Staff were friendly and proficient. Breakfast is expensive but ours was included as was valet parking.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitt Meadows, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

My husband and I were going to a wedding downtown so we booked into the Shangri-la overnight. It was a fantastic experience from start to end. The rooms are perfectly appointed with tasteful furniture, art and textures. The ability to control all the lighting and draperies with the push of a button from the bed was decadent. The TV in the mirror made getting ready to go out a lot more fun. The bed was so soft! All the staff were professional and very helpful. A very worthwhile splurge!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

Spring package is an unbeliveable value including valet parking and breakfast. Arrived to check in and the gal (new, limited training) was unable to locate my reservation. After 10 mins, she found it and proceed to go thru the details in a very slow manner, suggesting I join their Golden Circle program. Well, I was already a member, and needless to say, their reservation neglected this. Upon presenting my card, she attempted to find a room upgrade, but the manager on duty stepped in to speed up the process (line-up was growing). In a very unpleasant tone, he advise no other room was available. Breakfast also involved a long wait for a table, not that they were full, but under staffed. Modern facility, but service is far inferior to Shangri La hotels in Asia.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

This was our first stay in a Shangri-la hotel and we were delighted with everything.
The hotel has only been open for about 1 year and has a fantastic location on west georgia street in the centre of the city.
Overall, the hotel is beautiful and the rooms are amazing. With super comfy beds and all the gadgets you can think of!
The food is also to be recommended with a good variety on menu.
All of the staff are very friendly, helpful with all requests. Stefan and Robin on the concierage team are worth a mention as both were excellent!
Attention to detail in all areas is superb

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby British Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We booked a get away package with breakfast and parking included. Staff were very helpful, very professional, and happy we were at their hotel. Yes, we were upgraded to a beautiful suite, but regardless, we were treated like 5 star guests in a 5 star hotel. Room...awesome...the famous mirror TV did not work (battery dead) and we were greeted with a welcome note and fruit thing for some doctor who obviously couldn't make it. Undeniably the best hotel stay of our lives... Breakfast was fabulous and location was perfect for exploring downtown. Price for what we got...excellent. Yes we checked in underground and did wait 10 minutes for checkout...line up...but the stay and experience will bring us back.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.