We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Enjoy our Romance Package
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
GreenLeadersGold level
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful hotel for 4 nights and were very impressed, we booked a one bedroom suite for 2 Adults and 2 kids - suited perfectly.

The rooms are not huge but appointed beautifully. Loved to nespresso machine and L'occitane amenities. Great beds, and top gym equipment. The kids loved the pool.

The most outstanding part was the quality of the staff. So friendly and professional. The warmth of everyone we met felt truly genuine.

In particular, the concierge team were amazing, giving us great restaurants and tourist ideas.

This hotel is also in the best location. 5 minutes to Robson St and 10 minutes to Stanley Park.

Our only negative feedback would be to offer a better value buffet breakfast instead of a-la carte. Very expensive way to start the day! We went out for breakfast a few times instead of paying $80 for breakfast for 4.

Would recommend this hotel highly, especially for the lovely, warm and personal service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction site. It was noisy during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing the review of your exceptional stay with us. I will be sure to share you kind comments with our staff. They will be humbled by your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La Hotel Vancouver the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    149
    39
    21
    5
See reviews for
174
474
87
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Fantastic one night stay. Excellent personable service, great location in the city. Nice gym, free wi-fi, small pool with food/drink service. The Concierge was very helpful. We loved it and will be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The staff really made an effort to make our stay special, including a hand written note congratulating and welcoming us, sparkling wine, chocolate covered strawberries, and by far the best in-room breakfast I have ever had. Thank you!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the executive king balcony on the 15th (highest) floor facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Rooms that said can accomodate max 4 were too small. The pool was very small and the view was not that exciting we had construction view :( and the price was really not worth it in my opinion...
Over priced for no good reason. The staff asks too many questions !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. Guest feedback is the only true way for us to measure the effectiveness of our service delivery and we go to great lengths to ensure our guests are fully satisfied. I would like to get some further information in regards to your survey comment "Too many questions asked" so that I may look into this matter. We would hope to see you return to the Shangri-La and hope to be given an opportunity to rectify the situation you experienced. Please feel free to contact me with further details on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I spent a night to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. We booked an executive suite but found the room on the small side. Bathroom was nice and large. Nice surprises included fruit and cookies that were brought up to the room. Nespresso machine was nice but coffee cam out warm even when hot water was added to the chamber. Kettle was very useful to heat up baby bottles for our daughter. Some downsides - only a few pool chairs available and they were all taken; we were told upon check in that there was $50 per person off for spa services excluding mani/pedis but the sign in the room had many more exclusions and turns out was $50 per room discount....I didn't see the display in the room until after I tried to book my appt and ended up cancelling.

Great location and staff was very polite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and for sharing your feedback with us. I apologise about the confusion with the Spa credit and understand your frustration. I have shared your review with Front Office Team on your review so that they will be more clear in the future. I will also have someone take a look at the coffee machine to see what the issue was. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Simply the best of the best for your Vancouver stay. Every staff makes you feel as if you were home. Would not stay anywhere else. Shangr-La Hotel Vancouver is setting the standard high for the Vancouver hospitality industry. Every stay is tailored to your needs and expectations. There is no other alternative in this class AAA hotel. Urban Fare being next door, one has also access to a high end grocery store with good value restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear your had an enjoyable stay with us and are humbled by your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you "home" soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey Uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Chi Spa was very welcoming and we found the treatments were of a very high standard. We found the Chi balance treatments to be particularly effective. The staff are. Very. Knowledgeable and. Helpful. There is all so a small pool,to sit in,and you can sit round the pool.They have a gift shop there where you can buy creams and oils ,they are very good.There was a pool Side cafe which was good.

Room Tip: South. Side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 96 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 1,754 reviews
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 96 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 2,546 reviews
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#3 of 96 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 96 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 1,499 reviews
Downtown
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#4 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Otel, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.