We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Truly Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We got married about a month ago at the hotel. We had the ceremony on the terrace and the reception in the ballroom. The hotel was beautiful and didn't need to do any extra decorations, the service was excellent and the food was most amazing. The event manager, Sameena, was not only exceptionally professional but was also very sweet and great to work with and made sure every detail was looked after. The food was from MARKET and at our tasting, the Head Chef came out at every course to ensure our complete satisfaction with the food. We requested to modify one of the dishes to accommodate our guests and the Chef willingly prepared a completely different dish on the spot for our liking! And, the food was simply AMAZING! All of our guests praised the hotel and the food for their quality, expediency and elegance. The guests could not stop talking about how delicious the food was! Our honeymoon suite was modern, spacious and comfortable. The suite had wireless internet included which many of the so-called "high end" hotels charge $30 or more for service that should be included in the price. The hotel paid attention to small extra details, such as giving stuffed moose to every child that attended the wedding, which made the children and their parents extremely happy from the moment they entered the hotel. Every staff from guest services to servers all the way up to the General Manager were extremely professional and appeared to care about the satisfaction and well-being of their guests during their stay. This is a type of service, which is unfortunately not seen at any other hotels in our previous hotel experiences. The hotel truly lives up to its name and reputation and we highly recommend this hotel for not only overnight stays, but also all types of events. Based on our experience, we highly recommend working with Sameena! Thank you Shangri-La and thank you Sameena for turning our once in a lifetime experience truly memorable!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Shangri La Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    638
    109
    31
    19
    4
See reviews for
115
340
72
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Booked by our travel agent for us and our two grandkids, this hotel far exceed all expectations during our one-night stay. Not only was each child given a stuffed moose on arrival, but the attention given to literally every detail during our stay was over the top! This truly may be the finest hotel experience experience we've ever had, especially considering it wasn't even a premium suite, but merely two adjoining rooms.

Beds were extremely comfortable, rooms were large and well-arranged, hotel food was excellent, and we simply had no complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Beautiful hotel. I had the Spa package and stayed in a King Executive room. There was plenty of vacancy in the hotel but my room was on the same side as the construction which was awfully noisy during the day, even with the great sound insulated walls. I did not want to walk around the room with the earplugs provided... The Chi-Spa themed additions to the room were a very nice touch. Perfect to set the mood of my solo getaway. The pool/hottub, steam room and gym made it all a very relaxing experience, that could only have been improved if I had been able to get away from the construction noise. The Chi Spa is ultra luxurious, very well decorated, and everything is in one private room. I loved the private steam room with shower at the Spa. My spa treatments were exceptional and my therapist was wonderful. But the reception/booking staff of the Spa made it very complicated and time consuming to book my treatments at a desirable time. It was quite obvious that the Spa staff reserves their best service and flexibility for the Hollywood stars they pride themselves in having as clients.

Room Tip: Mention you want to be away from construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for letting us know about the difficulty you experienced when making your spa reservation. I apologize that your experience was not a smooth and easy process. I will be sure to follow up with our team to review how we can improve. I can assure you we take pride in delivering the same level of service to each and every one of our guests. The next time you plan to visit our spa, please feel free to reach out to me directly so I can rectify the situation you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed here as part of a romance package for my anniversary. My husband and I really enjoyed our stay as it was modern, clean and very sheek without being uncomfortable. We also had the tasting menu at Market and the food was amazing! I highly recommend coming here for a little treat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed for a couple days after a Silversea cruise, and found the hotel to be very comfortable and the staff accommodating. We were upgraded to a suite, which was reasonably spacious with a good view of downtown. Even tho we had to leave before the restaurant opened, we were still served breakfast in our room. Very helpful staff, even sent us in the hotel car to dinner one night. The concierge was very knowledgable and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Shangri-La with our 9 month old son and were very impressed with the experience. I've stayed at literally hundreds of hotels over the years and would rate the attentiveness of the staff within the top five of the hotels I've experienced. Being very new, the hotel is in excellent shape and has many amenities that add to the quality of the experience. The location of the hotel is also excellent, being close to many excellent restaurants and shopping, as well as being only blocks from the centre of Vancouver's business district. My only criticism of the hotel is that it has a compact design in all areas which gives it a slightly cramped feeling, something which we may have either gotten used to over a longer stay or perhaps the opposite. That aside, the experience was lovely and I would highly recommend a stay at the Shangri-La.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York, USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the Sangri La hotel and it was a wonderful experience. From the unique personal check in, beautiful room, and all top class room features. Pricing was excellent- far below what it would cost in a U.S. City. Entire staff went out of their way to make sure we were having a good time. Cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: They have upgrades at reasonable prices if you ask at check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review of our property. We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.