We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Medina

Cafe Medina
780 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A4, Canada (Downtown)
+1 604-879-3114
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 2,763 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Airdrie, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The food and service were so good here. The waffles looked great although we stuck with the meals. The Tagine was probably the best meal I have ever had for breakfast. The lavender latte is a must.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    120
    18
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good breakfast in Vancouver”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were recommended to go to this place by our hotel concierge - we would never have found it by ourselves as it is a bit out of the way from the main city center, but an easy walk. There was a line outside which nearly put us off, but we weren't in a hurry and we only had to wait about 15 minutes. We sat in a back room but it had huge windows so was lovely and bright, with very interesting artwork. The service was a little slow and our waitress forgot our orange juices but still charged us for them, and the table next to us got the wrong waffles (hence only four stars), but the food was great - very healthy and delicious. We would definitely recommend this place.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Downtown Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Skip the free breakfast at the hotel and go to Cafe Medina. Delicious, unique. Be there by 9:00, limited seating but worth it. We loved the atmosphere as well. Afterwards take a short stroll to the Chinese Classical garden. My daughter said the hot chocolate was the most delicious she had ever had in her life. ( she is in her late 20's )
Great menu. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not as amazing as everyone raves about...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

It was ok.... The lavender latte was good but the food was just ok. I think just because it's trendy right now everyone is raving about it. But give it a year and it will just be another restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brunch!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Went to café Medina on a suggestions from my daughters friend- Love it!
Food, was yummy,great a mix of European and Nordic-Cool surroundings and nice atmosphere-great vibe-Don't miss the Waffles!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Medina also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Cafe Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.