We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great brunch, prepare to wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Medina

Cafe Medina
780 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A4, Canada (Downtown)
+1 604-879-3114
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 2,804 restaurants in Vancouver
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Neighborhood: Downtown
Roseville, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great brunch, prepare to wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely Sunday brunch with friends here. We arrived before they opened to a line already forming. Luckily we were seated with the first diners. The salted caramel waffle was crunchy and gooey, a piece of heaven early Sunday morning. Can also highly recommend the Paella eggs, it was a bit of Spain and California all in one skillet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    141
    76
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Comox, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“There's one, or two, in every city . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

You know - that little boutique restaurant, specializing in breakfasts, usually in a reclaimed building, that everyone insists you try. On a recent visit to Vancouver, the 'kids' took my wife and I to Cafe Medina 556 Beatty Street. It was an easy walk from our hotel, The Met, and soon we were in that preprandial social event - the lineup. Only 45 minutes - good deal!! A very efficient version of the breakfast maitre-d' policed the crowd, regularly called and rechecked the roll and ushered us to our table for four, through the bowels of the building to a bright a cheery room with a view of - I forget. I was facing the wrong way. But it was cheery and there was a view. My wife had the cassoulet, for me, the paella and frequent sharing took place. I know, you're thinking paella for breakfast! Ah but it was crowned with a soft cooked poached egg and avocado. Great service, fun food, wonderful coffee - an excellent choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wait for it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We went here for breakfast one of the days of our trip to take a break from the food cart marathon we were on. Somehow, we lucked out and arrived at the perfect time to be seated right away, but the lineup started shortly after. Even if we would have had to wait out in the rain, it definitely would have been worth it.
Service: super friendly and helpful
Food: outstanding breakfast & waffles (lunch offerings looked great, but we were there for the breakfast)
Coffee: excellent coffee and tea selection
Do the right thing and go eat here!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best waffles!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Waffles were delicious and for 3 bucks each you can get 3-4 without spending too much ( they're small). The toppings were pretty good- we tried the salty caramel, milk chocolate lavender (the lavender is strong with that one) , and the raspberry caramel -- the winner. We also split the fricasse which was delicious.

I'd seen the line outside and heard this place was overhyped- but we got in after waiting maybe 5 minutes and it was as good as everyone said.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best. Belgium. Waffles. EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

After walking in a huge circle around downtown, GF needed to eat. I needed a beer and my feet needed some rest. Cafe Medina was on already my list of must eats. We arrived a little after the kitchen already closed so our options were very limited.

Oh man.... the Belgium waffles are to die for! A bit pricey for the size ($3 each) but they were delicious. Even with no toppings! Can't even imagine how it would taste with some fresh strawberries as well.

Top it off with the Pyramid apricot ale and I forgot how sore my feet were.

It's a cute little place to hang out too. I can see myself sitting here with a cup of coffee and reading a book all day. Too bad I don't read books so that's not happening.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Medina also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Cafe Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.