We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Medina

Cafe Medina
780 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A4, Canada (Downtown)
+1 604-879-3114
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 2,816 Restaurants in Vancouver
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Dorset,UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Visited the Cafe Medina for brunch during a recent stay in Vancouver. Excellent menu, great atmosphere, lovely service

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    91
    13
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sooke, Canada
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Oh my, waffles!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My daughter wanted waffles for breakfast which was fine wih me because she was paying for our trip to Vancouver. We chose Cafe Medina when she read they served a lavendar infused topping. This place is hopping busy - fortunately we were seated fairly quickly, along with three other groups, in a back room that seems to serve as an overflow area for Medina and another eatery operated by the same people - I believe the room is called the Chamber.
Despite how busy they were we received our menus promptly and everything was served quickly. We both ordered the lavender latte, me because it just sounded so good despite my not being a huge latte fan, it was delicious but could have been a bit hotter. Then it was onto waffles. We ordered two, deciding against the lavender for the white chocolate with pistachio and rosewater. I understand the need for the white chocolate as a binder although I am sure something else could be used (maybe) to further enhance the pistachio and rose water - mouthwatering! Just the right amount for our shared, delicious waffles. My only concern was the assumption we would be eating off one plate - we had to ask for serving plates. Otherwise the presentation was simple and inviting. We also shared one of the egg dishes - the name completely escapes me now! I do not enjoy eggs that art not completely cooked through so it was wonderful they got it right. Included was a serving of baked beans, definitely home cooked, that brought back memories of beans my mother would bake - just a little tinge of burnt (is it just me who likes that) mixed with a perfect sauce and bacon.
As the back room filled up quickly I can only assume the place is a favourite for locals and visitors - make it one of yours!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Islas Baleares, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best brunch ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We managed to visit Cafe medina when visiting vancouver to see family last year. I waned something hearty, warmy and cosy. Cafe Medina is just that and the food is executed perfectly. Plus, I the coffee is delish! Visited here for lunch and had the Tagine breakfast plate. Served in a terracotta bowl with two soft poached eggs and the scrumiest merguez sausage, it was a highlight of our trip. Wasn't too busy on a winter weekday, though I think we were lucky to get there before the lunch rush..... and the line-up Every table was full. And the decor was funky and interesting.

Not to mention my husband's dish of smoked salmon and caper creme fraiche. B.C smoked salmon is unbeatable. It is obvious that the chef, Nico, is trained. And to have such an eclectic choice for a menu is refreshing and exciting. A little expensive, though the ingredients were top-notch. And the service could be a tad faster. But, hey, I was chilled by the end of it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A 2-hour wait which was totally worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I came here with my boyfriend a while back for brunch because it was so highly raved about. We went around 12pm and as expected, there was a line. No biggie - we put down our name and walked around... we came back an hour later and the line was STILL long and our names were still very far down the list. We asked the guy at the front how much longer and all he responded with was "we'll have you in before we close"... what does that mean? When will that be? We ended up going DT Vancouver for an hour before going back and by this time it was already 2:30pm... we still had a good 4-5 tables in front. I was starving at this time and then the waiter offered us a table at the bar and we jumped on it because we couldn't wait anymore! Talk about a long wait for brunch... this was more like an afternoon tea.

Anyway, we ordered off the bunch menu and a few drinks as well. The green tea latte wasn't bad but a bit bland. When our orders came, I got the Fricasse which was divine! I was also super hungry but everything was so rich in flavor and tasted better than I expected. I loved the presentation as well and it's a good portion size. My bf ordered Les Boulettes and although I don't like poached eggs much, the meatballs were good. You can really taste all the ingredients that they're putting into the food and I love that distinction - makes it worthwhile. The portion sizes are also just enough to make you full but not over the top to make you sick. The service was also exceptional and everyone was very friendly.

Besides my long rant, the food is SO worth it! There aren't many places that I would say is "worth a 2-hour wait" but Cafe Medina passes that test. The offerings aren't huge but everything we tried was unique and flavorful. The price is average for brunch in my opinion so I would definitely go again. Although next time we'll probably head down when it opens... I highly recommend it as one of the best places I've eaten at in Vancouver!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca Lake, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Took a day trip to Vancouver with friends from Washington and had lunch here. Great Vibe, great food, great service, excellent coffee, Love Vancouver!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Medina also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Cafe Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.