We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian food...not a great view in the outside seating but hey choose to sit inside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Italian Kitchen

Trattoria Italian Kitchen
1850 4th Avenue West, Vancouver, British Columbia V6J1M3, Canada
6047321441
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Trattoria Italian Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #586 of 2,810 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Burrard
Transit: Public Transit is available less than half a block from our front door. The 4 or 7 busses have a stop right at Burrard and 4th.
Description: Trattoria Italian Kitchen is a vibrant, restaurant, where contemporary design unites with casual Italian dining and a focus on sharing. Service is relaxed, knowledgeable and welcoming. The menu consists of traditional trattoria style cuisine - hand made pizzas, bruschetta, antipasto, pasta and meat platters, fresh fish and familiar Italian staple items like Forno Roasted Chicken and Veal Scaloppini with an aim to keep our menu items at $20 or less. A carefully chosen selection of 50 wines make up a list representing the major regions in Italy including Tuscany, Piedmont, Veneto and Sicily. Add in a few boutique California, and British Columbia wineries and you have the perfect combination of a simple, yet comprehensive wine selection.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Italian food...not a great view in the outside seating but hey choose to sit inside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hight quality Italian food as consistent with the Glowbal Group of Restaurants, especially its flagship Italian Kitchen.

Located in Kitsilano, the restaurant is located near the busy intersection of West 4th and Burrard, I recommend sitting inside the restaurant as outdoor seating will give you a constant flow of car exhaust fumes from the cars idling due to traffic construction.

For food go the the pasta dishes served with Kobe meatballs. Simply great.

I recommend making reservations as the restaurant is popular.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Trattoria Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
So glad to hear you enjoyed your meal with us! The construction on West 4th has started to die down now so that patio seating is much more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    47
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a great Italian restaurant in Kits. The food is tasty and the atmosphere is alive and vibrant. Try the pasta platter for two, you won't regret it. Decent prices and friendly staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Trattoria Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Agreed - the pasta platter is AMAZING! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back in again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We loved the pasta dish we shared and the complimentary tender and tasty meatballs to start truly whetted our appetite for Trattoria.
We managed to get the last table outside and enjoyed the street bustle!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Trattoria Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Great to hear! Thanks for joining us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequisquiapan, Mexico
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“I Hated Brussel Sprouts UNTIL .........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Located on West 4th Ave. just a short trip from downtown Vancouver is one of my favourite, casual places to eat. My daughter and I stumbled upon this busy/cool place 2 years ago and return whenever we can.
As I said, I have always hated brussel sprouts, over cooked, mushy. Oh no, not here. These little morsels are crispy/brown with lemon and capers, absolutely delicious. They are served as an appetizer but I have eaten them as my main meal. (Also great with a lemon martini).
Not to dwell on the sprouts, I really could. The pizzas are delicious, any of the pastas are also great. My favourite is the browned gnocchi, yum.
it does get busy, so reservations are a good idea or go early and stay late. Also a great place for people watching, sit outside on the patio and watch life pass you by.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Trattoria Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
One of the greatest TripAdvisor reviews ever received:) Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you and your daughter again soon...we will have Brussels Sprouts & a Lemon Martini ready and waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver,BC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have been there, many times.
The food is always excellent.
We love the atmosphere ( thanks Hanna,Roberta,Jon and the cooks!) you guys make it really special.
Its nice, when you go to the restaurant, and people remember you.
We usually sit at the bar, because we love the business of the kitchen.

If you are lactose or gluten intolerant, you will not go hungry.
We have taken friends there, most definetly will be back.

oh, you must try the meatballs....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Trattoria Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you very much! I have passed on your kind words to the team at Trattoria. We look forward to serving you again soon...we will have the meatballs ready and waiting:)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Italian Kitchen also viewed

West Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Trattoria Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Italian Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.