We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Save Saved
You added L'Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Travellers Choice Package
Ranked #1 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
calgary
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“An Absolute Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

L'Hermitage is a gem in every way....this is my second stay here and I wouldn't hesitate ever to come back. The staff are fabulous and treat you like you are family. Hippo, the resident mascot, is a wonderful quirky addition to the hotel...he is such a friendly soul. It is well located and within walking distance of everything that Vancouver has to offer. It's one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,991 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,751
    198
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
328
1143
81
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paradise, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

The hotel is in a condo building. Some floors are residential while some belongs to the hotel. This hotel is nice overall. Clean, good location (if you are driving), nice room (very spacious bathroom). It also has a nice outdoor hot tube and pool. It was cold when I was in Vancouver otherwise I would have used it. Price is decent as well and it's located right downtown. I would return to this hotel next time I'm in Vancouver.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Great location and very good service. We will be back in a few weeks and are looking forward to seeing the staff again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed here, and we brought our two dogs. The room was exceptional and we were upgraded. The spa and outdoor heated salt water pool are tremendous and the view from them is very...urban Pacific. There were just a few little things (though we are generally laid back travelers): the staff was generally very nice however we had a somewhat tough time one night getting recommendations for dinner and activities and the check-in process was a bit harried as the hotel is located in a busy area and has a narrow window for parking and valet. I highly recommend this hotel for travelers with pets. Additionally, parking is $25 per night. If you are inclined to get a beer and watch a sporting event on tv there is a great pub directly across the street (Kinston Arms I believe).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

A boutique hotel in the heart of Vancouver's West End.

A gorgeous little hotel, with attentive, courteous and pleasant staff.

Stunningly decorated, right down to the fine detail.

Very reasonably priced, this hotel made our first trip to Vancouver even more memorable and wouldn't think twice about staying there on our next visit.

Highly recommended for couples! Gorgeous rooftop pool and jacuzzi... Perfect for a soak after a long day exploring the city.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We enjoyed every aspect of our stay at l'Hermitage. We were first time visitors to Vancouver but upon arriving at and checking into the hotel, we immediately felt welcomed and well cared for. All aspects of our stay at the hotel well outstanding, most memorable, however, were relaxing on the wonderfully comfortable bed, sharing a crisp evening swim and hottub with our too little seen Seattle-based son and enjoying each encounter with the friendly, highly professional and well-informed staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

Tthe hotel occupies a number of floors in an apartment block - the reception is on the ground floor with a door man the rooms start a few floors up and are accessed by a lift for hotel guests only. There is a long thin heated swimming pool mainly, I suspect, for those athletic types! there is also a gym. We originally booked a One-Bedroom Boutique Suite and i asked for a King size bed - the Hotel e-mailed me back and said that, this standard of room had either a queen size or king size bed but that we could not book this in advance. When we arrived only a Queen sized bed was available. This was disappointing but the lady behind the desk offered an upgrade to a One-Bedroom Signature at a reduced rate. We accepted and had no regrets. This room was really a small apartment with a full size kitchen with everything you need to cook and serve a meal also a great coffee machine with complimentary cartridges replenished each day. A nice sized lounge, balcony, two bathrooms (both with excellent showers one with a bath also) a reasonable sized bedroom and a study room which was perfect as a dressing room. Beautifully clean, modern and comfortable I could not imagine anything better. Canada is at present (to those who use the pound anyway) very expensive- food and accommodation. Wine is particulary expensive even in supermarkets (3 X that of the same wines availalbe in the UK). With this in mind the accommodation is good value in comparison to other hotels. We stayed in the Pan Pacifc waterfront also which was of comparable price (and lovely) but the accommodation was a single room without a kitchen or balcony.
The concierge was brilliant, we had an unfortunate meal at a restaurant he had recommended (it has since shut down), a sign of his commitment was evident when he then rang the restaurant with our comments he followed this up and later informed us that he would not send anyone there in the future, we agreed to go to another suggestion of his (Cin Cin's) It was again an indication of his and the hotels calibre that we were treated as VIP's and had one of the best meals we have ever had.
Although without sea front views the locaion of this hotel has very many other advantages, this end of Richards street is a much better place to stay than the other. Each side of the downtown waterfronts are within 10 minutes walk. there are many restaurants within a couple of minutes (Yaletown, Richards, Granville). There are a couple of supermarkets nearby. I would not hesitate to stay here again and dearly hope that I will in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.