We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value, great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added L'Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
L'Hermitage Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Travelers' Choice Package
Ranked #1 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
regina, canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic value, great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 4 nights in mid February. We had room 657, which has direct access to the patio overlooking Robson St. The corner suite was large (living area, bedroom plus separate bath) and clean, and relatively quiet, especially considering that one side faced Robson St. while the other side faced the construction going on across Richards. Location is great because it's located between Yaletown and the Coal Harbour waterfront, not too far from Granville Island, and very close to all of the shopping on Robson St. We've stayed here before, and were quite happy to find that the hotel is still lives up to its reputation. Would definitely consider staying here again, especially in that room. Didn't interact with the staff much on this trip, but when we did they were very friendly and helpful.
p.s. try the restaurant located just outside the hotel doors (to the north) for breakfast.

Room Tip: 657 has direct access to the balcony overlooking Robson St. Not sure if it's a private balcony s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,040
    244
    38
    11
    8
See reviews for
394
1,347
93
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very welcoming and Raymond the conceirge could not have been more helpful. We really enjoyed relaxing on the balcony overlooking the corner of Richards and Robson with some wine the manager generously gave us to help celebrate our wedding anniversary. The pool is wonderful too if smaller than it looks on the website.

Room Tip: Worth getting one with a balcony and the building work opposite didn't bother us at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wow, What an amazing hotel. The rooms are a great size and the bathrooms are absolute luxury. During a cold winter night having the fireplace was a really nice touch too. It really felt like a home away from home.

The staff were very attentive and remembered us when we came back and were very knowledgeable about local attractions and restaurants.

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great experience! I choose to stay in this hotel every time I go to Vancouver. The luxury accommodations for the reasonable price point is unbeatable! The gluten options for breakfast were a plus as well!

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm very disappointed because my husband (23) and I (21) wanted to stay a night for our anniversary. I booked the hotel because it looked perfect only to see that we had to be 25 years old to check in. I emailed immediately to see if that was their actual policy. I was told that if we booked directly through the hotel they allow you to be 21 to check in but since we booked through expedia we weren't able to. Essentially, they made us cancel our reservation yet they are willing to make other exceptions for people under 25. I'm very disappointed and frustrated with the lack of flexibility from L'Hermitage Hotel. They're losing business because of something so silly that they obviously could have worked out but were unwilling to.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just returned from a two-night stay at the L'Hermitage in downtown Vancouver, B.C. The hotel location was perfect (we arrived via Amtrak) and we were able to walk everywhere- Gastown, Granville Island, Stanley Park, etc. The hotel itself is lovely, and the staff is very friendly and attentive. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is my second stay here - the hotel location is central (a bit noisy daytime's there as some building opposite) but the staff are great and the rooms are fantastic. The breakfast area/ bar for drinks after work is also a nice touch. Love this hotel

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.