We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and accommodating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Save Saved
You added L'Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Travellers Choice Package
Ranked #1 of 97 Hotels in Vancouver
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Luxurious and accommodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very comfortable, clean and beautifully appointed rooms at this hotel.
Staff are friendly and accommodating, always greeting you at the door as you come and go throughout the day.
The hotel breakfast is affordable and generous, and the staff are attentive and polite.
My wife and I stayed in a room with a laundry (a brilliant option when you have been travelling for some time!) and my son stayed in a king boutique room. Both rooms were beyond our expectations; we would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay downtown in Vancouver. The hotel is a short 10-15min walk to Canada place and Gastown where you can explore the city and take a free shuttle bus to Grouse Mountain. There is also plenty of shopping nearby, and a small supermarket just around the corner if you need to pick up supplies.
The Kingston bar and grill across the road from the hotel is a must visit if you are looking for a hearty and delicious meal at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,877
    208
    31
    11
    6
See reviews for
362
1231
86
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

A great hotel in the heart of Vancouver. We had a queen suite which was beautifully appointed. There are building works opposite the hotel but this didn't disturb us. Some of the rooms also have balconies so it's worth asking at check in. We loved the location, 2 blocks from the airport sky train, 1 block to car rental ( for a trip to Squamish for the sea to sky gondola, which was fantastic), a quick walk through Yale town to the aquabus for false creek and Granville island, almost above a large supermarket for snacks and picnic items, and a local Tim Hortons for coffee etc for those who dont want a full hotel breakfast. The hotel is above medina, the hot place in vancouver for breakfast and brunch, there are lines but its absolutely worth the wait. We loved the bikes and had a great cycle around Stanley park. We would be happy to stay there again.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed in L'Hermitage for 8 nights with my boyfriend in September 2014. All i can say is WOW! It's without a doubt the best hotel I've ever stayed in. Complimentary chocolates on our arrival (and everyday on our pillow!) and our own private patio with the swimming pool right behind that, we were seriously impressed (especially as we had booked the cheapest 'petite' room which was bigger than most rooms I've stayed in before!). We also had a wonderful bathroom with gorgeous marble bath and separate shower. There was a lot of building work going on across the road but our room was placed at the back of the hotel so we weren't disturbed. The hotel staff were the friendliest, most helpful people I've ever met, and gave us a warm welcome everyday. The concierge went out of his way to help us with anything & gave us discount vouchers for tours. We used the lovely heated pool and jacuzzi on 3 occasions early afternoon, we were the only people there each time. The hotel is in an amazing location in downtown Vancouver, 2 min walk to Robson street shopping, 7 min walk to Gastown (lots of restaurants and independent shops), 7 min walk to Yaletown (lots of restaurants and bars) and 10 min walk to views of the water. The hotel is a 5 min walk to downtown station which is a 1/2 hour train ride to the airport. There is also a brilliant breakfast/brunch restaurant called Medina's right next door (highly recommend!).
Overall I was so impressed with this wonderful hotel, i will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: The 'petite' room was plenty big enough with an amazing bathroom, ask to be placed away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowsnest Pass, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

In Vancouver for a sports event plus a concert, we were delighted to learn both activities were in an easy walk of L'Hermitage. While we were pleased with the perfect location, we were also delighted with the assistance of the hotel staff. We were welcomed and provided with useful touring info. What surprised us was the way in which we were greeted upon leaving or arriving in the hotel foyer - always a smile or welcoming words from a clerk, doorman, or other staff. We really appreciate the help with dinner reservations - thank you concierge. Also amazing breakfast service for the daily buffet offered in an upscale lounge dining area.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury_7
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel thoroughly deserves its reputation. It is a calm relaxing place to stay where all the staff are efficient, friendly and keen to help. The hotel is not flashy or over the top in any way. We stayed for three nights while seeing the sights and felt very at home. We walked everywhere including going out at night for meals. The hotel has bicycles which we used to visit Stanley Park and which can be reserved by email for four hour slots. The gym is excellent. We also visited and ate at the Kingston Bar across the road which was ideal for a good quality pub type meal.
The room was ideal for our stay with fridge and lounge area and we used the supermarket right next door for picnic and breakfast options.
Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The L'Hermitage was absolutely wonderful. We were only there for one night but it was fabulous. The team are very friendly, helpful & well trained, always happy to help. We arrived a little before check in so the team happily took our bags and stored them in our room once it was ready. I was a little concerned about the noise from the construction but we didn't hear a thing and slept perfectly in the huge king size bed. We were upgraded which was a wonderful surprise to a suite, it was so lovely we didn't want to leave, the bathroom was fabulous. The gym & pool were excellent just the hot tub could have been a little hotter than it was. Adam in guest services was really helpful as was the concierge who helped us with our bike tour. Highly recommend a stay here....

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Now I see why this hotel is rated number one. An amazing hotel in a great location, with the most amazing and friendly staff. Our room was like an apartment, with a kitchen, an office, and two bathrooms. There was some construction going on across the street, but it was never an issue. The hotel staff is very friendly, extremely helpful and professional. We walked to a number of key locations with no problem. I can not say enough great things about this property.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to the one bedroom suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.