We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added L'Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
L'Hermitage Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Travelers' Choice Package
Ranked #1 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great location and very friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Rooms great, excellent bathrooms. Really comfy bed and squashy pillows ! The hotel staff were amazing, especially Raymond (everybody loves Raymond) Wong ! He is a concierge like I've never experienced before. He is so passionate about helping you get the most out of your visit to vancouver. It's a great location for doing everything in Vancouver.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,110
    253
    40
    11
    9
See reviews for
410
1,394
95
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel!

We picked this hotel based on trip advisors reviews and I couldn't be happier. Such a great location, helpful staff and brilliant roams. They even found room to help us store our bikes during lunch time!

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 days at this hotel in mid-August. We booked a 1 bedroom suite with a package that included continental breakfast and free parking (which we didn't need). The room looked nice on their website, but sometimes those photos are misleading. Not this one - it was very elegant in a minimal, contemporary way. There was a high-end kitchen with a huge Sub-Zero refrigerator, a living area, a large, beautiful bathroom and a bedroom. The hotel has a great location, a few blocks from 2 light rail stations and there is a grocery store at the end of the block. The hotel has a business center with 2 computers for guests to use and the room where breakfast is served is beautiful. The breakfast had lots of things to choose from, including some very nice fresh fruit (which is often lacking on breakfast buffets). The room was expensive (around $300), but it was a very good deal when compared with similar rooms and hotels in the area. Vancouver is an expensive city to visit during the high season, but this room was a comparative bargain. It was our 20 year anniversary trip, so we were willing to splurge on a great room in and great city with fabulous weather!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Thank you, TripAdvisor reviewers, for finding us this wonderful hotel in Vancouver! The staff are amazing, very professional and helpful...no matter at the front desk, restaurant, bellman, maintenance.
The location is central to discovering all of downtown Vancouver on foot (although there are hills!).
The most striking thing I noticed is how QUIET this place is! It felt more like a home than a hotel. The bed was very comfortable. Bathroom huge, with separate tub and shower. Lighting wasn't good, but they did have a makeup mirror which helped. We had a couple maintenance issues that were handled right away and fixed completely. The decorative rug by the desk kept getting ripples in it, which could be a tripping hazard.
Breakfast was $19.50 (CN) and plenty full of quality options. The in-room coffee was not good!
Wi-fi worked flawlessly. The only thing that bothered me about the place was the scent that was pumped into the lobby area. I can get headaches from perfumes/scents and if I had spent much time there, that surely would've happened. Plus, it was not a scent I personally liked!
I hope this review has helped in your decision making. Enjoy your time in Vancouver!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagensborg, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The rooms are beautiful...just the way they look in the pictures.
We were accommodated with our request to be on the opposite side from the construction, which was great because some days it was LOUD!
Even though we weren't facing Richards street the regular noise was pretty substantial, so we requested a stand alone fan, which was promptly delivered. The window are beautiful and large, but I think only single pane which would account for the volume.
Great location to everything downtown, and a short walk to the SkyTrain.
The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable, although we did not utilize them as we are fairly familiar with the city.
The pool and hot tub are gorgeous, and you should totally take advantage of them on a nice day!
The only downside I can think of for this spectacular hotel was the breakfast. We ordered waffles, which were tasteless and lukewarm at best. I would have called and verbalized this (and I know it would have been quickly rectified) but sadly we had a plane to catch!
Overall a fantastic place to stay...you won't regret it!!!

Room Tip: Away from construction, and at the end of the hall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Excellent hotel with beautiful rooms, great location, friendly staff and a substantial breakfast buffet. We had a lovely suite with a balcony - no noise from the construction site because we were there over Labor Day weekend. We had a problem with a staff member, but it was addressed by the General Manager.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

After a long flight from Ireland we were greeted by lovely staff and very promptly shown to our room. I was immediately impressed by the approach of the staff. The staff member who checked us in came around from behind the desk to hand us our key and to show us our room number of the key - rather than shout it out from behind a desk. Our luggage was delivered to our room immediately and we were show the amenities.

The room was 663 - a boutique room. It was a very nice room. About standard sixe for an Irish hotel room. The bathroom is large, with a separate shower cubical and a very deep bath. The toilet is separated also - which is handy when there are two guests.

The décor throughout the hotel is very smart. The bed was very comfortable. The mattress is firm - which I love. The pillows are soft (which I hate) but I used a hard cushion under on of the pillows and it worked well. The room has a large safe, a small fridge, complimentary bottles of water, an iphone/ipod docking station, iron/ironing board, Air conditioner and fireplace, large screen tv, wired and wifi (free of charge), robes,

The location of the hotel is excellent. Turn left and walk a couple of blocks and you are down at the waterfront. There are some beautiful walks along there, with restaurants and bars all over the place.

I really loved this hotel and would stay again. I understand why it is number 1,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.