We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury hotel at affordable rates with great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added L'Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
L'Hermitage Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Travelers' Choice Package
Ranked #1 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Luxury hotel at affordable rates with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

What you’ll get at l'Hermitage Hotel:

great service, lovely accommodations, and easy walkability to many super restaurants and cultural attractions. We spent three nights at l’Hermitage in early December and fell for the city and the hotel.

I’d asked for a spacious room, in their Boutique category, with a view. We got room 557, with a view, AND a gas fireplace, which added a note of coziness and warmth that we especially appreciated in that cold, damp season. The price for our room was very reasonable for the level of luxury provided.

Our room had walls of windows with heavy curtains. That combination gave us panoramic views when we wanted them and a darkened room when we needed to sleep.The bed was extremely comfortable and the bed linens were of superior quality.

Spacious bedroom was accompanied by spacious bathroom, including a separate room for the toilet, a glassed-in shower, and a comfortable bathtub more than long enough for a tall person like me.

The bathroom was stocked with spa-quality bath products made by Archive. The Green Tea and Willow soap was fragrant and fantastic.

Breakfast is served in a large, light-filled room called The Orangerie. The food was very nice. The servers were, if anything, too attentive! They approached our table every few minutes and continually tried to whisk away the plates that they thought were empty. I finally had to ask them to stop removing our plates until both of us had left the table. I hated having our conversation interrupted so often and I told them so as politely as I could. They apologized profusely and gave us plenty of space the next two mornings. Problem solved!

We were especially grateful to David, the concierge and to Ann, the receptionist, for excellent service and advice on restaurants and other attractions.

You absolutely can’t go wrong staying at the Hotel l’Hermitage!

Room Tip: Ask for room 557! It's a large corner room and high enough to have great city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,106
    253
    40
    11
    9
See reviews for
410
1,391
95
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lansdowne, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked in for 6 nights. Our stay could not have been more enjoyable. Staff, without exception, were friendly and helpful. We opted for the basic room and were happy with its size and amenities. It was very well maintained throughout our stay. We took the parking/breakfast plan. The buffet breakfast was beautifully prepared and ample. Its a small hotel so the selection is moderate. The service in the breakfast room was terrific. Servers, housekeeping, front desk, concierge and doormen were exceptional. We would definitely stay here again when next in Vancouver. The location for us was great.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked a petite boutique room this time, and despite having some concerns ahead of time about it perhaps being too small, found it was very comfortable, bright and quiet. We actually prefered it to the boutique room we had last year which had a fireplace, but faced the street. We faced the pool and had a small balcony which we unfortunately couldn't use due to the weather. The staff went out of their way on several occaisions to welcome us back, and it was nice to see a lot of the same people that were there last year. The breakfast was fabulous, and the service very attentive. I personally don't care for the Nespresso coffee machine in the room. The location of this hotel is an ideal jumping off point for most attractions, restaurants and shopping in the downtown area.

Room Tip: Construction continues on the new Telus building across the street, and we found the poolside room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a one night stay here after finishing a cruise , we were made to feel very welcome and like a previous review, although we were early , we were upgraded, offered a complimentary coffee in the lounge whilst the room was being prepared and in our room far sooner than we expected.
The room was fabulous and very comfortable, the staff were all excellent , the breakfast perfect and we left wishing we could have stayed much longer. We hope to return to Vancouver and would definitely book to stay here again. Many thanks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We recently stayed for four nights at L'Hermitage on our first time in Vancouver. We were very happy we booked this hotel. I was very nervous after I booked the hotel, because of the construction going on and the hotel was unable to confirm that we will get a room away from the construction side, but once we stepped into the lobby all worries were gone. We stayed from Monday - Friday so the construction was going on everyday, but the insulation in the hotel is so good. We did ended up getting a room on pool side, so were not directly exposed to the noise, but believe me the windows keep a lot of noise out. I believe the hotel is so quiet, because only three floors are for the hotel and the rest of the building is a residence, so the building was built to keep out noise. We never heard anybody, not from the hall, not in the next room. Service is outstanding and we enjoyed that we had booked the package which included the parking and the breakfast, The breakfast had good choices, but the one thing we would have enjoyed would have been some more variations from day to day, but all four mornings we had the same choices.
This was our first stay in Vancouver so the location of the hotel is perfect to get anywhere. We looked forward to come back every evening to just relax. If we come back to Vancouver we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Pool side is great, but really all rooms are good. Rooms are very well insulated so veen with the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just stayed here for one night only -sadly.
Beautiful boutique hotel, service was amazing. We were upgraded to superior room/suite. It was fabulous. Spotlessly clean. The staff can't be more helpful.
There is some building work going on across the road from the hotel, but you can't really hear it from the rooms, and it did not interrupt our sleep - in the most comfortable bed ever.
Breakfast was delicious. If we ever visit Vancouver again this will be where we will stay.
Free wifi in the hotel- all areas.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I travel often for business around the world and must admit that L'Hermitage is by far one of my new favourite hotels to stay at. I had stayed at other luxury hotels in Vancouver but L'Hermitage is superior in service to any other hotel in Canada. Location is great and the concierge will go above and beyond to accommodate your needs. I was happily upgraded to a suite with high-end appliances including washer and dryer! They even provide detergents!

I never stay at a hotel twice (except The Pullman hotel in Jakarta) but I have already booked my stay at L'Hermitage next week.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.