We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll be made to feel very special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Save Saved
You added L'Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
L'Hermitage Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Travellers Choice Package
Ranked #1 of 96 hotels in Vancouver
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“You'll be made to feel very special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

To our doorman Tunc to front desk assistant Roman and Concierge David, plus the girls in L'Orangerie (a beautiful place for breakfast) and the house staff who showed us how to work the fire, gave us more capsules for the Nespresso, or fixed the room......THANKYOU for making our two nights with you so memorable.
L'Hermitage deserves its No. 1 ranking on Trip Advisor

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,845 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,627
    180
    25
    7
    6
See reviews for
299
1057
76
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here with friends. We stayed in the two bedroom signature suite. There were six of us staying there and it was very comfortable. Sound does not carry throughout the suite. The beds are extremely comfy, even the pullout couch. You cannot beat the location of this place. It is within walking distance of pretty much everything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very nice accommodations.Loved the full size fridge, espresso maker, dishwasher, washer/dryer. Great that there is a supermarket two doors down the street, and lots of fast food options around (incl Japadog!) Location next to the city library, Just two city blocks away from City Centre mall. About 3 blocks to a nice children's park. Walkable to aquabus at Yaletown marina, hockey stadium. Gym was small but very do-able with everything you'd need and enough space. Really nice salt water jacuzzi and lap pool! Room cleaning schedule a bit awkward with ours but do-able. Super friendly and attentive staff - in the lobby they even hurried without my first noticing to get a tissue for my 2 yo's runny nose!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at in a long time. The staff were really professional and dealt very smoothly with a mix up over our reservations and let us access our rooms ahead of the check in time. The rooms were lovely, too hot would be my only minor complaint, and the pool and spa area was a real treat. The hotel location is perfect with everything close at hand or easily accessible. The hotel has a couple of bikes which is a nice extra and well worth borrowing. Otherwise you can hire at Simon's Bike shop which was also great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

What makes L'Hermitage stand out against other quality hotels I have stayed at is the service. As previous posters have mentioned, Raymond the Concierge is outstanding and very knowledgeable, and he is backed up by an attentive and polite team. As an example of this service, we arrived 6 hours before the advertised check in time, and expected to just drop our bags off before going to kill some time around the city while our room was prepared. Raymond checked us in immediately, told us we had been upgraded to a suite and made sure we had everything we needed for the rest of the day, which was a welcome surprise.
The suite was excellent and very clean, the hotel is in a great location and walking distance to all of the downtown area. They have bikes you can use for free if you fancy a ride too.
I can't really fault this hotel, or even give it constructive criticism, and I have paid a lot more to stay in hotels that get no where near this standard.

There is some construction work going on opposite the hotel, but it is only in daylight hours, about 8-8 if I remember correctly. I slept in past 8 and didn't hear anything.

Room Tip: Floor 5 has the restaurant/business centre, gym, pool and hot tub so it's handy to stay on this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The staff are above and beyond. Generously greeted by all at any and every point in the hotel. Location is excellent, grocery store, wine store, cafes, right around the corner. Proximity of the Canada line train direct to the airport so convenient!
The pool and spa jacuzzi outside open all year round, and fabulous.

Room Tip: We chose the suite on the 5th floor conveniently located at the spa / gym/ pool level. The room has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I escaped to enjoy a couples' weekend here and everything was perfect. We've stayed at many different hotels in Vancouver and this one stands out as one of the best. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were a nice size and well appointed and the patio where we had breakfast was beautiful. The location is perfect for enjoying downtown. Overall a wonderful experience and we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver
Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.