We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Save Saved
You added L'Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Travellers Choice Package
Ranked #1 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I travel extensively, and always select quality hotels, and without doubt, the service I experienced at L'Hermitage Hotel during our recent 3 day stay in Vancouver was as good (if not better) than I have experienced anywhere in the world. The staff were so friendly & attentive. The hotel is close to quality restaurants, & shopping, but also very self contained.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,064 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,815
    202
    30
    11
    6
See reviews for
351
1187
82
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We definately enjoyed our stay at L``Hermitage Hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was very nice and clean. The beds were very comfortable. Wìsh we could have used the hot tub and salt water pool however I forgot my swimsuit. Overall this is an excellent hotel and we would look forward to going back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in January and found it to be a brilliant hotel. We were upgraded on arrival to one of their suites, which was a great start! As mentioned in other reviews there is building work taking place opposite the hotel and even though we were on the front this did not really bother us.

Our suite was very nice, probably up there in our top 3 of all time. A good size and very nicely furnished/decorated. We really enjoyed the outdoor hot tub and pool, nothing better than having a soak after a hard day sight seeing!

The hotel is in a really good location, easy walking distance to The Waterfront, Gastown, downtown shopping, and Yaletown. We also took advantage of their free bike hire and went for a ride around Stanley park which was great fun.

The best thing about this hotel is the service you get. From start to finish they could not do enough for you, we were always greeted with a smile and all the staff knew us by name. A big thanks to Raymond and David on the concierge desk who were brilliant and made our stay in Vancouver as good as it could have been.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

The good reviews of this hotel are true.
Excellently managed with the Most attentive staff.
Breakfast includes fresh orange juice and a limitted but excellent selection of fruits, salmon, bagels breads, waffles and a few hot items.
Eat in the evenings at the hotels restaurant or the excellent concierge will organise any level of eating you may ask for as well as organising anything at all - all with exceptional charm.
This hotel really is a gem.
The one potential issue might be the building works next door - we were on the other side so I don't know- but worth asking for a room on the quiet side in case!
We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

This is my second time @ L'Hermitage Hotel and I do recommend this hotel. It was everything perfect. The Service is just excelent. The Location is awsome., Although there is a big constrution just in front of the Hotel. But for me it was not a problem because my room was at the back.

The cos was only the pillow that was not soft at all.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Islands, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite before the Christmas holiday and everything about our stay in this lovely hotel was practically perfect. The location was convenient to a variety of attractions, the staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were the best ever in a hotel, and the suite was comfortable, clean, we'll fitted, and beautiful. We also enjoyed the outside rooftop hot tub and indoor gym. We had such an enjoyable time that it was difficult to leave, but we definitely plan to go back in the future.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our suite on the back - it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our experience at L'Hermitage was fantastic! It started with Raymond at the front desk- he was friendly/entertaining/informative. He also upgraded us free of charge which is always nice/appreciated. Our bags were waiting in our room when we got back from our day out in the city (we had arrived prior to the check-in time). The water pressure was good and we had plenty of hot water. The towels and sheets were clean which is a must for this frequent traveler. The room had a nice fireplace, stainless steel appliances and a sitting room. Vancouver is a great city to walk and the hotel is centerally located. There is a reason this hotel is #1 on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Amex, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Reservation Counter so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.