We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Save Saved
You added L'Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
L'Hermitage Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Travellers Choice Package
Ranked #1 of 96 hotels in Vancouver
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Best Service Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This boutique hotel is centrally located in downtown Vancouver. The staff were exceptional in their service. The hotel amenities such as the heated salt water pool and spa was enjoyable. Our overall experience was one that will remain with us for a long time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,849 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,630
    181
    25
    7
    6
See reviews for
300
1059
76
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here the weekend before Christmas and it was wonderful! Great location, nice rooms (the beds were so comfortable!) and the staff were so friendly and helpful. The gym is also very well appointed with good equipment. We'll definitely stay here again next time we're in Vancouver.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Right from the front door, the quality of this building and care demonstrated by staff was top notch. Mitchell helped us too our room quickly and made mental notes of who we were and where we were going. The next day he greeted us by name and asked how our event was, really nice. The valet was prompt and the front desk was very friendly. Nice room, very comfy, we enjoyed the salt water lap pool. Would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I was fortunate enough to stay at L'Hermitage for six nights in December 2012. From the personalised confirmation email at booking confirming my requests, to check out and everything in between, the staff and management of this hotel go beyond to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

I arrived very early on a Sunday morning after a 14 hour flight from Sydney and as the taxi pulled up to the front door I was greeted by name by the gentleman on the door. Completely unexpected but a great portent of the customer service to come. Check in was smooth and when I opened the door to the One Bedroom Signature Den I was pleasantly surprised. It is basically a one bedroom apartment. Full kitchen and laundry facilities, living area with electric fireplace, study, guest bathroom, bedroom with king bed and a separate television, plus the master en suite with separate shower and bath. You could easily live in this space. There was also a personally addressed welcome letter and a gift wrapped box of chocolates waiting on the kitchen counter. Amazing!

I can't say enough good things about this place. One night there was a power outage and, as a result, the wifi was unavailable for a few hours the following day. Unavoidable and not the hotel's fault. So I was completely surprised when, on check out and completely unsolicited, there was a $50 credit applied to my invoice as a result of the inconvenience of being without wifi for two or three hours! That just shows the level of commitment L'Hermitage shows to its guests. As a first timer to Vancouver I'll know exactly where to stay when next I'm in town. And I can't wait!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Had a very good experience in this hotel. We had many special requests and all the staff went out of their way to accommodate us, including booking restaurant reservations for 17 pax, fixing our bus charters, and rebooking our hotel rooms. All our service requests were met efficiently and with big smiles. Special commendations to Mary Ann and Elaisha from the front desk, and the serviceman whose name we cant remember but who is called "slasher" because of the many roles he played including electrician, gardener and troubleshooter.

Great rooms too. All amenities were thoughtfully included down to the complete kitchenette, full channel line up on the pay tv service, and ipod speakers.

Excellent location downtown, a few blocks away and walking distance to shopping and restaurants.

Would definintely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Fantastic stop for 4 nights for our family of four. We expected it to be more cramped given four of us were in a one bedroom but the suite was spacious with terrific kitchen and laundry facilities. Cleanliness and service were outstanding. With scrumptious buffet breakfast included featuring loads of delicious local produce we thought it terrific value. Location also super convenient. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

location was great, room was great, many amenities, like the pool, steam room etc. But the service was the difference. Management has done a great job to make the staff buy in to the attention to service and detail. We will go back.

Room Tip: east side rooms are the best, away from any street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver
Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Venere so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.