We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel was the best choice for our wedding anniversary night in Vancouver!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added L'Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
L'Hermitage Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Travellers Choice Package
Ranked #1 of 97 Hotels in Vancouver
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This hotel was the best choice for our wedding anniversary night in Vancouver!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were very grateful for the warm and kind welcome on our wedding Anniversary! They made our wedding Anniversary very special! Thank you so much!!
The room were outstanding, staff were so kind and warm, location is wonderful, breakfast was tasty. This hotel is much personal and elegant and gives warm feeling. We will surely go back to this hotel again and HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,907
    210
    34
    11
    6
See reviews for
364
1,256
88
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Great location. We were going to an event at the Orpheum Theatre - it was an easy 2 block walk. We ate at the restaurant in the hotel - very good (even tho they brought one of us the wrong dish, it proved to be delicious). We chose the "hotel special", including free valet parking (a huge bonus in Vancouver) as well as breakfast which was a wonderful buffet - everything was fresh and delicious.
The staff were very helpful! To top it all off, we were upgraded to a suite!! It was very well appointed - we loved the coffee machine! Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: There was some construction across the street from us. It starts up at about 7:30 in the morning. Di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel and wanted to share my experience. The ladies at the front desk were very helpful and friendly during our check in, but our room wasn't ready when we arrived (we did check in a bit early so that was to be expected) so we went to the lounge on the 5th flr for a cocktail while we waited. It's a nice, relaxing lounge, ambient music.... Once our room was ready we were excited to check it out. Ughhh, the wrong bag was delivered to our room and now my husbands bag was missing in action. Thankfully it wasn't put into the back of a taxi and driven away, but we were still not too impressed. It was safely delivered to us within 10mins. The next morning we ordered breakfast via room service. It was cold, flavourless and the young lady that delivered it to us said the cart had to leave the room with her. Well, hmmm there's no tables in the room so I actually ate on the floor. First time for everything I guess :( Our TV was also not working properly so we had to call on 2 seperate occasions to have it fixed..... It was something to do with the satellite. The beds were average, the pillows felt very cheap. The bathroom shampoo & body wash products weren't replenished daily :( During our stay there was also a power outage from 9-2:30am, I don't blame the hotel for that at all as it was a city issue but the hotel was getting a lot of flack from other guests. We were offered Tea Lights, while their back up generator did its best to provide light where needed. (Hallways & Lobby). The GM handed out a box of chocolates to make up for the inconvenience, that was a nice touch. Check out was VERY busy and a bit crazy. I saw a gentleman checking in and was given a key and room number. Within 4 mins. this man was back at the front desk and not very happy. As it turned out, he was given a key to the wrong room and had just walked in on a couple., Yikes, hopefully they were fully dressed!!! I did have a 20min.wait for the valet to bring up my car. I don't blame him though, as he was on his own and very busy. All and all our stay was just ok. I have stayed at much better Vancouver hotels. Oh I forgot to mention that there's HUGE construction taking place across the street so keep that in mind of you do decide to book.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM-Tanguy, General Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Pineapplepongo,

I wish to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We value and appreciate your comments. I wish to assure you that the inconveniences mentioned in the review are definitely not the hotel standards and that we continue at L’Hermitage Hotel to do 'Whatever It Takes' to exceed the expectations of our guests.

The essence of our success at L'Hermitage Hotel has and will always be our caring and professional team. I was delighted to read that you mentioned how helpful and friendly they were during your arrival. It was also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our relaxing L’Orangerie lounge where I am confident our dedicated staff welcomed you warmly and had you settled before your room became available. Please allow me the opportunity to respond to your concerns:

Breakfast: L’Hermitage hotel features Boutique rooms and suites with some of the best room layouts. These stylish and enticing rooms comfortably include a complete set of a desk and chair and a welcoming sitting area. In addition, the luxurious One-Bedroom Signature Suites are appointed with a dining table or a fully equipped kitchen with a counter bar and stools.
Our ‘In Room Dining’ breakfast menu features Free-Range organic scrambled eggs from a local farm; fresh BC smoked salmon; organic Artisan granola and so many other wonderful fresh items. While our Breakfast is one of the key of our success, I was disappointed to learn that the hotel did not meet your expectations on this matter.

Amenities: As in most of the hotels in Vancouver, L’Hermitage Hotel provides complimentary hotel amenities such as shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion etc…. These amenities are available to all our guests and replenished daily. On a different note, please note that the beds and the quality of sleep are our top priorities, and it is unfortunate that again, we did not meet your requirements.

Power outage: It is always unfortunate to read when an event outside of the Hotel’s control has an impact on the quality of our guests experience. The city power blackout that happened during your stay was beyond the Hotel’s control and while we could not prevent it from happening, both the satellite and Internet were affected by the power outage, and for that I do apologize.

Valet: Our standard operating procedure for valet is based on a 5- to 10-minute window from the time the guest calls the front desk to the time the vehicle is at the Hotel entrance. Please be assured that the hotel does its best to always meet the standards.

Dear Pineapplepongo, thank you for your insightful comments and we hope that should your plans find you in Vancouver, you consider staying at L’Hermitage Hotel again.

Sincerely.

Jean-Michel Tanguy
General Manager
L’Hermitage Hotel Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marysville ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

One of the nicest hotels I have stayed at. Spacious beautiful rooms with fireplace, huge bathrooms, delicious reasonably priced room service. Comfy beds.
Highly recommend this hotel.
Amazingly friendly staff that go above and beyond.
Room service had closed when I arrived but they made me dinner.
Great hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is now one of our favorite hotels in Vancouver. Considering it's about half the price of one of our other favorite hotels in the area (if you look at my other reviews you might be able to figure our what it is), I have a feeling that we will be staying a lot more often.

The room itself was extremely clean, with a nice modern look, good appliances and amenities, and comfortable furniture. The bed was nice, though the hotel should consider new mattresses, as ours was noticeably sagging in places. That said, I slept like a baby.

Our room had the 3 piece bathroom (tub/shower combination, toilet, sink). The bathroom was fairly large, clean, with a strong water flow (the shapes of the faucets make the water quite powerful).

The staff was always very friendly and professional, and little touches really helped set a good impression. For example, since we arrived a bit early, our room wasn't ready, so we had complementary coffee and tea in the lounge until a guest services person brought us the key. Also, the valet greeted us by name when we left.

We purchased the valet and breakfast option, which was a good idea. The breakfast was quite nice, relaxing, with many options and friendly staff. I also liked that breakfast extended late into the morning.

I almost don't want to say this in fear of giving away a secret, but I was amazed that this hotel experience was so affordable, compared to other hotels in the area. Yeah, there might be other hotels with the type of service that waits on you hand and foot, but L'Hermitage really struck us with the right combination of luxury, service, and value.

A few notes about hotel in general: The location is great. Just off of Robson, not too far from Gastown and the waterfront. There's a grocery store about half a block away, which is really handy if you get a room with a kitchen. There was some street noise noticeable from the room, if you're noise-sensitive, but truthfully I haven't stayed at a hotel in downtown Vancouver in the past 5 years where there wasn't siren noise, construction, or people yelling in the streets.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Pitch perfect service. Great rooms, beds, etc. We brought our little dog and they were very gracious and accommodating. Signed up via an online deal and we got even more perks than promised. We'll stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We recently celebrated my birthday in Vancouver BC and stayed at the most wonderful hotel!
L' Hermitage was a perfect location to explore the city by foot and by car. The Concierge--Raymond-- was so helpful in suggesting great restaurants and making reservations so we could get in during the busy holiday season. He and all of the staff were delightful and friendly. Our room was spacious and had all of the comforts of home. We will definitely return to this lovely hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.