We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent location and a beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added L'Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
L'Hermitage Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Travellers Choice Package
Ranked #1 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
NZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An excellent location and a beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I was very pleased with my stay here - it really is a beautiful hotel. The service was excellent, and the rooms were incredibly clean and spacious.

I'd absolutely recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,988
    228
    35
    11
    7
See reviews for
379
1,315
92
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at your hotel for a special 20th Anniversary get-away recently. I was extremely impressed with everything about the hotel. The service was the most gracious I have ever experienced. The room was beautiful and the entire decor of the hotel was exquisite. I didn't want to leave! We will difinitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Every once in awhile you get an unexpected surprise while traveling. More often then not its a delayed flight, hotel that doesn't meet your expectations or a terrible restaurant. Well in this case, it was none of the above. Flight landed on time and I was wonderfully surprised just how wonderful the L' Hermitage was. The rooms, service and location were fantastic. The Hotel restaurant was equally impressive and the service outstanding. Not to mention the price, its was below what I paid for a place not nearly as nice.

I now have a new favoriate hotel in Vancouver and its L'Hermitage.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed for a week recently and the experience was excellent. The staff were helpful, professional and friendly. The rooms were lovely. Thanks for a great week. I will recommend you to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This lovely boutique hotel is superbly located in the center of town with easy airport access. Spacious rooms offer kitchenette, fireplace, and atrium sitting room and laundry. I could have easily stayed a month. Lovely dining room with full breakfast, too. I loved the espresso machine and iPod hookup, as well as the deep tub for a nice soak, too. Friendly staff was courteous and cheerful even when we checked in past midnight. Parking was included in the package. Only downside was massive construction project going on across the street. It was quiet on the weekend. Nearby is a beautiful public library and art museum. Hudson's Bay for shopping is very close by. Really nice gym. Very clean and well kept.

Room Tip: Rm 603 had a nice kitchenette and atrium seating with desk. Free wifi too
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife & I recently stayed two nights at L'Hermitage. The front desk staff and Raymond the concierge welcomed us warmly from the moment we arrived and provided a wealth of helpful information in how to make the most of our short stay in Vancouver. We were blown away at the size of our room (it felt more like a luxury condo), which included a full kitchen and even an electric fireplace in the living room area. Every hotel staff member with whom we interacted excelled in customer service and exuded hospitality. We were also pleased that the hotel was located in the heart of downtown (just off Robson Street) and thus within walking distance of coffee shops, great restaurants, and shopping. All in all, if you're looking for Four Seasons quality at a third of the price, look no further than L'Hermitage.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you are looking for impeccable "thought to service" this is the place. The team at L'Hermitage are there for one reason only....the customer. I have not been the happy recipient of this level of service for years. Although I did not stay at the hotel I did secure their boardroom for a business meeting on two concurrent days. John Chao was my point of contact and he ensured that the smallest detail was attended to. My first hint at the positive experience was when I arrived, although I had not met the concierge before, he greeted me by my name (he had obviously done some homework). After each day's session Mr Chao did a debrief with me and every request for the next day was executed seamlessly. If you are looking for a business meeting get away (leave the office distractions behind) L'Hermitage gets my six star rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.