We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added L'Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
L'Hermitage Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Travelers' Choice Package
Ranked #1 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel was perfect. From the moment we arrived the staff were one of the most responsive we have ever seen. The room was equiped with a top of the line kitchen, beautifully decorated living room, and well-stocked bathroom. This hotel is centrally located which makes walking to just about anywhere easy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,107
    253
    40
    11
    9
See reviews for
410
1,392
95
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed in L' Hemitage for 3 nights at the beginning of our 5 week tour in Canada and found the quality of accomadtion to be superb. Our room was total luxury, very well serviced, the breakfast restaurant was of a very high standard with extremely attentive and friendly staff and the concierge very helpful in booking nearby restaurants. We would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I would just like to express a big thank you to the staff at the L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. My wife and I had a very pleasant stay there recently, the suite was very comfortable and spaciouse just what I requested, The location is ideal for discovering the city without the need of hiring a vehicle, as the public transport is very efficient, and in the evening you are within walking distance of some fantastic resturaunts and bars. The Hotel has great facillities like the gymnasium and steam room, the outdoor salt water pool was perfect for an early morning dip. We were especially impressed by David who was the concierge, he advised and booked all our excursions and was the font of knowledge about what to do and where to go in and around Vancouver. I would highly recommend the L'Hermitage hotel to anyone visiting the city and would have no hesitation in booking this hotel when we revisit Vancouver.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at the L'Hermitage at the start of a month's vacation touring Canada BC. What a start to the holiday ! You just cannot fault this hotel and we endorse all the earlier positive comments. They seem to have achieved a great balance with all the trimmings and facilties of a top class city hotel, but none of the stuffiness sometimes experienced.
The staff are superb.
We found the breakfast good with a wide choice. I guess not cheap if you usually take a coffee and croissant, but you can still have this in the lounge if you wish.

Room Tip: At present, there is a major building project opposite the front of the hotel. Perhaps ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The L'Hermitage hotel was our last stop on our 2,5 weeks journey through the US and Canada so we decided to go for a little splurge.
The welcome was very friendly - almost like if they would have expected us already. Throughout our stay, the staff was very helpful and supportive.
The room itself was very very spacious, clean, had an exquisit furnishing and tremendous windows. The bathroom has a separate toilette which is (based on my experience) not always the case but I like it better that way :-)
Breakfast was by the far the best buffet breakfast we had throughout all our hotels (fresh berries, pancakes, scrambled eggs etc. etc.)
Unfortunately right now they have a construction site in front of their hotel -so be prepared for that. I assume that some follow on reports/recommendations will mention that as well in their reviews which is really sad for that great hotel.
I will recommend the L'Hermitage to anybody going to Vancouver.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very Clean. Super Clean and modern bathrooms. Cool pool and outdoor area, nice privacy from the roads. Nice location. Good breakfast. Not so comfy beds though. Super good service overall walking distance to a bunch of places to eat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAINT PAUL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Thank you so much, L'Hermitage! We stayed two nights recently in Vancouver prior to a cruise. L'Hermitage came highly recommended and it was a fabulous hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms are beautiful. This was our honeymoon and we really appreciated the upgrade to a one-bedroom suite and the complimentary bottle of wine which we enjoyed on our balcony in the evening. The room we had was a corner room with a sitting room, separate bedroom, coffee bar with Nespresso, and a spacious marble bath. The location was convenient to the waterfront and to Granville Island. The concierge gave us great advice regarding checking in for our cruise and stored our luggage until we left for the pier. Stay here. It's great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.