We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful in all ways!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added L'Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
L'Hermitage Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Travelers' Choice Package
Ranked #1 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
San Diego, California
1 review
“Delightful in all ways!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

The hotel is beautiful inside and out. In the middle of the night a fire alarm went off (turned out it was set off by the restaurant attached and turned out to be a false alarm) and we all evacuated for 30 minutes. This was a hassle but not the managements fault and they hurried to make it right! In the morning we were given a free breakfast and $100 off our room rate. For something that wasn't even their fault! They were very professional and very kind throughout our stay. Housekeeping was wonderful and all the staff extremely helpful. We will go back as soon as we can! Walking distance to everything!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,106
    253
    40
    11
    9
See reviews for
410
1,391
95
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

My second time at L'Hermitage and it's still #1 in my opinion for the best hotel in Vancouver. The rooms are super clean, comfortable with just the right amount of luxurious touches. Things I I love about this place: the compact but very functional kitchen with high-end appliances; the charming common outdoor space with the heated saltwater lap pool and the hot-tub. Location also great, next to the entertainment district (but far enough away from the noise) and next door to grocery store, and loads of restaurants, shops.

Normally I don't find the service at hotels anything to comment on but this place is noticeably different. Everyone, including the porters are very friendly and all seem to be socially gifted. They're happy to talk to you, answer your questions, joke with you and help you with whatever you may need. Lots of nice touches at this hotel - (e.g. they delivered a complimentary bottle of chilled bottle wine to our room for my husband's birthday).

Can't say enough good things about L'Hermitage. I hope it never changes, they've got the right formula.

Room Tip: Recommend the botique solarium
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

L'Hermitage made our first visit to Vancouver a wonderful experience! The staff was incredible and helpful, the location was perfect, and everything about the room was wonderful. One of the highlights of our trip was biking around Stanley Park on the hotel's bicycles.

We have relatives in Vancouver who have invited us to stay with them during our next visit, but our experience at L'Hermitage was so fabulous that we will definitely plan to stay there for at least part of our visit. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

Completed enjoyed the stay. Wounderful hotel and great staff. Love the pool area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Very beautifully kept hotel, immaculate in fact. We had booked months before our stay and made a request for a light and high room at the front of the hotel but were given a very dark small room at the back. We felt very hemmed in and asked to be moved, but were told that there were no more rooms available. However, after persisting, we were soon upgraded to a much lighter room. This was dealt with professionally and with good grace. The breakfast is not very comprehensive but at only $17 is reasonable value. All the staff and friendly, helpful and smiling. Concierge excellent. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

The staff are fantastic; courteous, informed, friendly and helpful. The hotel is immaculately clean and within walking distance of everything in Yaletown and Gastown. The amenities are great and the L'Orangerie is a delight.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

In room fire place, comfortable beds and great room service.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.