We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT QUICK MEAL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dish

The Dish
1068 Davie Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1M3, Canada (Downtown)
(604) 689-0208
Improve this listing
Ranked #450 of 2,865 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Sandwiches, International, Vegetarian, Delicatessen, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“GREAT QUICK MEAL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were staying close by and just wanted a simple dinner. We checked out several places in a 3 block radius and chose this one hands down. Good, simple well prepared soup and sandwiches. The staff is friendly. Food prepared right in front of you at the counter.The fresh roasted turkey was moist and delicious in both of our wraps and sandwiches. So if you want something quick and simple, with all the surrounding choices, give this place a try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Very good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We ate here for breakfast prior to going on a cruise. Had the Sophia Wrap and it was very tasty. We would return!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
461 reviews
370 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Note! Not a vegetarian restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I read reviews on some sites claiming this is a vegetarian restaurant and was about to order a sandwich assuming the bacon was fake bacon...glad I asked!
I ate here twice - once for lunch (an excellent veggie chill and brown rice) and once for breakfast (meeh to boring).
Staff were friendly but sombre. Great fresh juices.
Not a high end place by any stretch of the imagination but good, honest to goodness hearty fayre at a decent price.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT Home cooked meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Dish caters to customers that want a quick breakfast or lunch (order at the counter) to eat in or to go. Most customers are regulars as the food is excellent and very reasonably priced. This is a small place with seating for about 20 people. There are two tables and 4 chairs on the sidewalk out front. Have been to this place about a dozen times over the last few months and have always enjoyed all the meals much more than what you will get at the big chain places. Great food at great prices.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

As usual the food here was fresh and tasty. But this year the service was not so good. The guy just didn't want to be there and wasn't friendly at all, lucky their food saved the day!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dish also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Dish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.