We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The DIsh

The DIsh
Davie Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
Improve this listing
Ranked #561 of 2,812 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Eclectic, Healthy, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
1 review
“Very good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We ate here for breakfast prior to going on a cruise. Had the Sophia Wrap and it was very tasty. We would return!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“Note! Not a vegetarian restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I read reviews on some sites claiming this is a vegetarian restaurant and was about to order a sandwich assuming the bacon was fake bacon...glad I asked!
I ate here twice - once for lunch (an excellent veggie chill and brown rice) and once for breakfast (meeh to boring).
Staff were friendly but sombre. Great fresh juices.
Not a high end place by any stretch of the imagination but good, honest to goodness hearty fayre at a decent price.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT Home cooked meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Dish caters to customers that want a quick breakfast or lunch (order at the counter) to eat in or to go. Most customers are regulars as the food is excellent and very reasonably priced. This is a small place with seating for about 20 people. There are two tables and 4 chairs on the sidewalk out front. Have been to this place about a dozen times over the last few months and have always enjoyed all the meals much more than what you will get at the big chain places. Great food at great prices.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012 via mobile

As usual the food here was fresh and tasty. But this year the service was not so good. The guy just didn't want to be there and wasn't friendly at all, lucky their food saved the day!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Why did I wait so long to try this place???”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

With so many gross places to eat on Davie st, my partner and I have all but given up on this street; with a few exceptions... Our lunch was house made soup and warm wraps... The fillings were fresh and the price was right. This is not a fancy place, but its clean and the ladies behind the counter were polite and seemed like they liked what they were doing. Check it out...

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The DIsh also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The DIsh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The DIsh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.