We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm not even vegan.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gorilla Food

Gorilla Food
436 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2Z4, Canada (Downtown)
604-772-2504
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #299 of 3,035 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Vegan
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I'm not even vegan.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Generally, I am shackled down on food options because my girlfriend is a super-vegan. And when I say super-vegan, I mean she could join the Avengers. So when a place is a specialty raw vegan establishment, and I loved it as a carnivore, then I truly recommend it. Fresh fruits and veggies, generous portions, and detoxifying juices. We will be going back again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    18
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a disappointment !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I ate there 2 months ago , it was actually A pick up. They forgot one of the orders . I had to drive all the way back to pick it up again ! We order 1 appetizer 2 main dishes 47 $ !!
I don't mind pay good money for good food but this time it was just a waste . We barley touched the food , it wasn't that great like we read everywhere .

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Over-priced food and over-inflated egos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I was disappointed and turned off by the attitude of 'the hipsters' working this place, but I enjoyed my choc shake (which I easily replicated at home a week later for 1/3 of the cost). I'd go back if others wanted to, but I likely won't return on my own. Worth it for the choc "milkshake" but that's about it... I'd way rather go to the Naam any day.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Alternative to the Everyday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've always been drawn to this little bohemian place. The food is interesting and tasty, the staff is pleasant, and space is exactly what might think of a little raw food joint in Vancouver. I particularly like the Thai Fresh Wraps and the smoothies, but I haven't been disappointed in any of my choices. This is favourite place of mine for lunch after a yoga class.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“morraccan rawkin olive pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The morraccan rawkin olive pizza was amazing -like nothing i've ever tasted,crunch, nutty, fresh, full of flavor. The Lasagna-nanda was also good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gorilla Food also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Gorilla Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gorilla Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.