We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uva Wine Bar

Uva Wine Bar
Moda Hotel | 900 Seymour St., Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
604-632-9560
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #447 of 2,831 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Reservations
Description: Enticing cocktails, refined wines, eclectic import beers- Uva Wine Bar, located adjacent to the Moda Hotel, is Downtown Vancouver's enclave for connoisseurs of wines and spirits seeking a sanctuary that caresses the eye as well as the palate.From the finest charcuterie, to artisanal cheeses and hard-to-find wine selections, indulge in Uva Wine Bar's cosmopolitan, yet relaxed interpretation of a true Italian 'enoteca'.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Really special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Uva is a little oasis in downtown Vancouver. I've never had a disappointing evening here. The most recent visit was with a girlfriend on an after work "must have wine and girl talk" night. It has the perfect ambiance for good conversation. As always the service was friendly, attentive but not intrusive. Love that you have the ability to share small plates of all sorts of tasty dishes or order off the Cibo menu if you want a full meal. Having had the pleasure of travelling to Italy several times, I hope I'm qualified to say the food is really authentic here. It's very regional and very good.There is a nice selection of wines and martinis. I almost hate to recommend this place because I like to think of it as my own little find :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect place Before a Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This small little wine bar was the perfect place before a preformance at the Centre for Preforming Arts. The wine selection is well thought out, loved that they carried Le Stella and the cheese and meat plates offered varied selection of delicious boar, elk and pork.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“GREAT WINE SELECTIONS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stopped in after dinner for a glass of wine and had two thanks to a very knowledgeable waiter. Atmosphere is warm and inviting and service was perfect.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Food & Great Drink Selection!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The bartenders here know what they're doing and their food is delicious and unique! Try their Marrow or Rabbit or anything else unique and you won't be disappointed! Yona knows his Tequila and Wine selections from what my colleague told me. Very highly recommend this place!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
244 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Wine flights, tasty food, attentive service: pricey & near perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I side with those who've had a fine visit. Our server was very helpful in selecting various wines, cheeses and Italian meats. As a result we got to enjoy items we might not have gone for. Our party of 4 was quite satisfied overall. (Though one among us had some seating comfort problems with those low-back high chairs. All was well once we relocated at our servers suggestion.) Yes, it's pricey. But the high quality of the food, the variety of wine options and the groovy ambiance/music made it worth the splurge.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uva Wine Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Uva Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uva Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.