We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place Before a Show” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uva Wine Bar

Uva Wine Bar
Moda Hotel | 900 Seymour St., Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
604-632-9560
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #549 of 2,788 restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Italian, Wine Bar, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Enticing cocktails, refined wines, eclectic import beers- Uva Wine Bar, located adjacent to the Moda Hotel, is Downtown Vancouver's enclave for connoisseurs of wines and spirits seeking a sanctuary that caresses the eye as well as the palate.From the finest charcuterie, to artisanal cheeses and hard-to-find wine selections, indulge in Uva Wine Bar's cosmopolitan, yet relaxed interpretation of a true Italian 'enoteca'.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect place Before a Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This small little wine bar was the perfect place before a preformance at the Centre for Preforming Arts. The wine selection is well thought out, loved that they carried Le Stella and the cheese and meat plates offered varied selection of delicious boar, elk and pork.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    15
    12
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“GREAT WINE SELECTIONS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stopped in after dinner for a glass of wine and had two thanks to a very knowledgeable waiter. Atmosphere is warm and inviting and service was perfect.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Food & Great Drink Selection!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The bartenders here know what they're doing and their food is delicious and unique! Try their Marrow or Rabbit or anything else unique and you won't be disappointed! Yona knows his Tequila and Wine selections from what my colleague told me. Very highly recommend this place!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Wine flights, tasty food, attentive service: pricey & near perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I side with those who've had a fine visit. Our server was very helpful in selecting various wines, cheeses and Italian meats. As a result we got to enjoy items we might not have gone for. Our party of 4 was quite satisfied overall. (Though one among us had some seating comfort problems with those low-back high chairs. All was well once we relocated at our servers suggestion.) Yes, it's pricey. But the high quality of the food, the variety of wine options and the groovy ambiance/music made it worth the splurge.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Great fare meets noisy and expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Uva Wine Bar is well situated for a pre/post event drink as it is an easy walk to most venues in Vancouver’s entertainment corridor. The Italian fare is the same as Cibo Trattoria; also located in the Moda Hotel. They say the menu changes daily; but it was the same menu that was presented to me at Cibo Trattoria over a month ago …not a factor if you’ve never been.

I found it very noisy; which is not roughly the same as ambience unless you’re going for “lube shop”. I know this is not just me as I overheard other would-be patrons commenting as they walked past my table and then headed back out the door. I’m not sure if the cranked up, repetitious electronica music is designed to make one drink more or leave; but judging how quickly tables were turned I would say the latter. When I think “wine bar”, soft music and conversation come to mind; Uva misses the mark here.

The prices are a little excessive. At $5 - 7 for one piece of bruschetta and most other antipasti at $15 or more you can easily eat a little and pay a lot. The theme continues to their wine list as prices here are bordering on punitive. The $55 (+tax) BC Pinot Gris while very enjoyable can be purchased for $19 (incl. tax).

To sum up. It’s noisy and expensive. The food is very good and the wine list quite extensive. The first two are enough to keep me from returning.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uva Wine Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Uva Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uva Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.