We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine flights, tasty food, attentive service: pricey & near perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Uva Wine Bar

Uva Wine Bar
Moda Hotel | 900 Seymour St., Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Granville Street)
604-632-9560
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #402 of 3,316 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Italian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Granville Street
Description: Enticing cocktails, refined wines, eclectic import beers- Uva Wine Bar, located adjacent to the Moda Hotel, is Downtown Vancouver's enclave for connoisseurs of wines and spirits seeking a sanctuary that caresses the eye as well as the palate.From the finest charcuterie, to artisanal cheeses and hard-to-find wine selections, indulge in Uva Wine Bar's cosmopolitan, yet relaxed interpretation of a true Italian 'enoteca'.
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
305 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Wine flights, tasty food, attentive service: pricey & near perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I side with those who've had a fine visit. Our server was very helpful in selecting various wines, cheeses and Italian meats. As a result we got to enjoy items we might not have gone for. Our party of 4 was quite satisfied overall. (Though one among us had some seating comfort problems with those low-back high chairs. All was well once we relocated at our servers suggestion.) Yes, it's pricey. But the high quality of the food, the variety of wine options and the groovy ambiance/music made it worth the splurge.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank boscosq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Great fare meets noisy and expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Uva Wine Bar is well situated for a pre/post event drink as it is an easy walk to most venues in Vancouver’s entertainment corridor. The Italian fare is the same as Cibo Trattoria; also located in the Moda Hotel. They say the menu changes daily; but it was the same menu that was presented to me at Cibo Trattoria over a month ago …not a factor if you’ve never been.

I found it very noisy; which is not roughly the same as ambience unless you’re going for “lube shop”. I know this is not just me as I overheard other would-be patrons commenting as they walked past my table and then headed back out the door. I’m not sure if the cranked up, repetitious electronica music is designed to make one drink more or leave; but judging how quickly tables were turned I would say the latter. When I think “wine bar”, soft music and conversation come to mind; Uva misses the mark here.

The prices are a little excessive. At $5 - 7 for one piece of bruschetta and most other antipasti at $15 or more you can easily eat a little and pay a lot. The theme continues to their wine list as prices here are bordering on punitive. The $55 (+tax) BC Pinot Gris while very enjoyable can be purchased for $19 (incl. tax).

To sum up. It’s noisy and expensive. The food is very good and the wine list quite extensive. The first two are enough to keep me from returning.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, CA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Not a good place for breakfast!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in Moda Hotel next door and went to Uva for breakfast. What a mistake! Had a trip scheduled and the bus suppose to pick us up at 8 am. We arrived at 7 am and started from letting our waitress know we need to depart at 8 am. She didn't see any problem with our order and timing. The food arrived at 7:45 - 7:50 despite our numerous reminders. The frittata was dry and uninspired and french toast too greasy. Unacceptable!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MisiuL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
216 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great wine and beer selection and interesting appies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Not just wine and dainty apps. Bolognese on toast, cheese and crackers, garlic and fruit confit spreads compliment a solid beer menu also.

Nice atmosphere and attentive service. Small space but great location downtown in a area starved of places like Uva.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank koolkookaburra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“My favourite haunt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is attached to the restaurant Cibo and shares the kitchen. Really good selection of food and an excellent martini list. Request the Earl Grey martini if you want a real treat. Menu changes all the time and you can always get a seat. Not your typical hotel bar.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Damianjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uva Wine Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Uva Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing