We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fare meets noisy and expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Uva Wine Bar

Uva Wine Bar
Moda Hotel | 900 Seymour St., Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
604-632-9560
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #468 of 2,866 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Enticing cocktails, refined wines, eclectic import beers- Uva Wine Bar, located adjacent to the Moda Hotel, is Downtown Vancouver's enclave for connoisseurs of wines and spirits seeking a sanctuary that caresses the eye as well as the palate.From the finest charcuterie, to artisanal cheeses and hard-to-find wine selections, indulge in Uva Wine Bar's cosmopolitan, yet relaxed interpretation of a true Italian 'enoteca'.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great fare meets noisy and expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Uva Wine Bar is well situated for a pre/post event drink as it is an easy walk to most venues in Vancouver’s entertainment corridor. The Italian fare is the same as Cibo Trattoria; also located in the Moda Hotel. They say the menu changes daily; but it was the same menu that was presented to me at Cibo Trattoria over a month ago …not a factor if you’ve never been.

I found it very noisy; which is not roughly the same as ambience unless you’re going for “lube shop”. I know this is not just me as I overheard other would-be patrons commenting as they walked past my table and then headed back out the door. I’m not sure if the cranked up, repetitious electronica music is designed to make one drink more or leave; but judging how quickly tables were turned I would say the latter. When I think “wine bar”, soft music and conversation come to mind; Uva misses the mark here.

The prices are a little excessive. At $5 - 7 for one piece of bruschetta and most other antipasti at $15 or more you can easily eat a little and pay a lot. The theme continues to their wine list as prices here are bordering on punitive. The $55 (+tax) BC Pinot Gris while very enjoyable can be purchased for $19 (incl. tax).

To sum up. It’s noisy and expensive. The food is very good and the wine list quite extensive. The first two are enough to keep me from returning.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburg, CA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Not a good place for breakfast!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed in Moda Hotel next door and went to Uva for breakfast. What a mistake! Had a trip scheduled and the bus suppose to pick us up at 8 am. We arrived at 7 am and started from letting our waitress know we need to depart at 8 am. She didn't see any problem with our order and timing. The food arrived at 7:45 - 7:50 despite our numerous reminders. The frittata was dry and uninspired and french toast too greasy. Unacceptable!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great wine and beer selection and interesting appies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Not just wine and dainty apps. Bolognese on toast, cheese and crackers, garlic and fruit confit spreads compliment a solid beer menu also.

Nice atmosphere and attentive service. Small space but great location downtown in a area starved of places like Uva.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“My favourite haunt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is attached to the restaurant Cibo and shares the kitchen. Really good selection of food and an excellent martini list. Request the Earl Grey martini if you want a real treat. Menu changes all the time and you can always get a seat. Not your typical hotel bar.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birch Bay, Washington
Level Contributor
144 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Pre-Orpheum Parking Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We were in the city to attend a Vancouver symphony concert at the wonderfully-restored Orpheum Theatre. Uva Wine Bar is literally kitty-corner from the Orpheum and we luckily found a window table for two shortly after 6:00 p.m., well before the pre-concert rush began in earnest - and they were turning people away after 7:00 p.m.

I'll be the first to admit that it's not a cheap place. It's a wine bar and liquor prices in British Columbia are higher than many other places in the world, since the booze business is a profitable government monopoly. We were paying for a great location and ambiance.

The bar sells a variety of cocktails, including a "pre-prohibition" selection of drinks we hadn't even heard of. The bartender appears to be mixing them "from scratch" and they were tempting but we decided to stick with wine.

With nearly two hours to linger before the concert, we decided on a bottle of wine (not much under $50 for anything), rather than by-the-glass at around $12 and up. The friendly waitress let us taste a sample of her first suggestion and it didn't thrill us. After discussion, we tried another - more to our liking and a few bucks less to boot.

Having eaten our way through a dim sum lunch in Chinatown, all we wanted were small-plate appetizers, and the menu here includes such goodies as "arancini"- crispy risotto balls - and "panelle"- crispy chickpea fritters. Nothing was really "Wow" but everything was tasty.

We really enjoyed the atmosphere and the pleasant service. Be warned: Our check for a bottle wine and three small plates of appetizers was about $100. Don't go there looking for bargains.

For us, however, it made for a lovely prelude to an evening at the symphony, and we'll return.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uva Wine Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Uva Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uva Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.