We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had to have one!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Japadog

Japadog
899 Burard Street | in front of Sutton Place Hotel, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1X9, Canada (Downtown)
+1 604-667-4663
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #201 of 2,841 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I had to have one!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

There was a cart right in front of my Vancouver hotel. I passed by every day and said I was going to get one. Finally the last night, I stopped.
The Chicago roots in me will always want to try a good dog.
I cannot remember the one I had but it was delicious! Certainly a departure from the a Chicago Vienna Beef with everything including kraut, celery salt and bright green relish but you cannot beat the large portion, meaty textures, and layers of different flavors and spice. I wish all of the options were available at the cart. Their online menu shows many more choices. That said, I did have trouble picking one. I did not try the seafood or veggie options.
The 2 servers spoke very little English so I had trouble understanding the explanation of the different ingredients that I was not familiar with.
I did love the dog and would try others if I have the opportunity. I will say that one per trip would be enough -- it was very filling and was definitely packs a powerful punch of flavor.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    109
    40
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hot dog!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Just the most amazing hot dog ever. Looking forward to goin to their LA location-- just so fun. Delicious meat not greasy, wasabi mayo tasty

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Japadog is delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Kobe all beef hot dog, ordered from a food cart. I tasted the one my husband got and then got one of my own!! The seaweed adds a nice texture and mild flavour--it isn't like the slimy stuff you see along the banks of the ocean. I got the one with a delicious sauce, (not sure what it was) seaweed and several other items, which I am not sure what it was, but combined made one of the best hot dogs I have ever had. Wish I knew how to recreate it. YUM

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Japadog man's best dog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Who would have guessed that a hotdog with seaweed and some kind of savory sauce would be so good? (the Terimayo) kids even had the pure beef dogs plain and loved them. A little pricey for a "hot dog", but this is Vancouver...

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Yummy hot dogs with a twist!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The cart is situated on Burrard Street, I walked passed it several times, and finally the smells got me!! This is hot dogs with a Japanese twist, Japadog has several branches, there are the usual celebrity photos including Steven Segal and Daniel Dae Kim. My choice was a dog with seaweed, terriyaki sauce and Japanese Mayo, once the order is made, there is a 10 min wait, even at 5pm there was a big queue. The young ladies cooking the dogs were great theatre and when the dog came, it was dead yum!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japadog also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Japadog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Japadog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.