We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy hot dogs with a twist!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Japadog

Japadog
899 Burard Street | in front of Sutton Place Hotel, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1X9, Canada (Downtown)
+1 604-667-4663
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #230 of 2,803 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Sheffield
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Yummy hot dogs with a twist!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The cart is situated on Burrard Street, I walked passed it several times, and finally the smells got me!! This is hot dogs with a Japanese twist, Japadog has several branches, there are the usual celebrity photos including Steven Segal and Daniel Dae Kim. My choice was a dog with seaweed, terriyaki sauce and Japanese Mayo, once the order is made, there is a 10 min wait, even at 5pm there was a big queue. The young ladies cooking the dogs were great theatre and when the dog came, it was dead yum!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    107
    40
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It might smell funny, but tastes delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We walked by the Japadog cart several times and the smell was not exactly what I would call appetizing. It made me nauseous for some reason, however we took the recommendations to stop and get a Kobe Pork dog and it tasted absolutely delicious. If you think it smells odd/weird don't fret the taste is worth it.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Delicious "hotdogs"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We went to the japadog on robson.

The hotdogs were very delicious and unique. Their fries with different flavours were also delicious! There are alot of varieties and you will find one that you will like. They hotdog meats vary from normal sausage to pork cutlets. There are many different kinds and different toppings!

Something different to try in vancouver.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Overhyped hotdogs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Visited Japadog on Burrard St. in Vancouver. Hotdogs and other sausages with an Asian focus on the toppings. The food truck was busy but the food was only OK. They were out of brats, which is what I wanted. Our selections were different and not that bad but not extraordinary as the reviews on the Cooking Channel had suggested. Their fries are different "shaken fries". The cooked fries are put in a brown paper sack and spices added and "shaken" to distribute. We had schimi, which as quite spicy. We had free entertainment there, a very large and well fed seagull hung out there and tried to steal the bonito flakes. We were hoping for more.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Unique but not a must”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Interesting combination of dog choices and the ones we tried were good but just do not see it as a must stop in Vancouver. Service was fast, and dogs were cooked to order, which made them very tasty.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japadog also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Japadog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Japadog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.