We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, especially for take-out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samurai Sushi House

Samurai Sushi House
5888 Cambie Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V5Z 3A8, Canada
604-325-8597
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,234 of 2,938 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Fast Food, Sushi
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Vancouver Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent, especially for take-out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I live in the neighbourhood and go there often. Food is great, plentiful, and the price is better than almost anywhere. There is often a line-up of Japanese patrons outside, which should tell you a lot. The interior is small and crowded, which is PART of the reason for a line-up. I prefer to buy it there but bring it home. One of the cashiers is definitely not sunny, but I have never seen her angry as one reviewer reported.

DO REMEMBER that it is cash only.

The review from Lman is posted to the wrong restaurant. Lman is referring to one with a similar name downtown.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TwhirlingDervish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average sushi, big portions CASH ONLY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The quality of sushi here is average to good at best. The service has much to be desired, but I generally just get something to go as there is no real sit-down space most of the time. Prices are decent and it's very close to oakridge skytrain.. Just beware, there is no Debit machine so bring cash!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank EastVanCityGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A VERY ANGRY WOMAN CASHIER”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This restaurant serves Sushi with a large roll of anger behind its cash register. I wanted to replace the Tuna Sashimi with Salmon, which is a small request. I have no problem paying extra for it; just give me what I want. The woman cashier frowned and angrily went into a well prepared speech (heavy Chines accent): "you can not substitution Combo plates, You can order items you like separately (as she pointed to her 154 year old menu taped to the counter)," I ordered the foods and I was in trouble now....(heavy Chinese accent again) "Why you don't read sign here? We no accept credit debit or bank card, Cash only. OK?" I paid with cash. Then I asked for a straw for my can of Coke. She bent down, behind her cash register where she hides the drinking straws. She handed it to me with a dirty look. By this time I was laughing inside of me. It must be a severe case of PMS, I thought to myself. So do not come here expecting any type of service. Just medium quality food in larger portion is what you get.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrayHairedMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Little big fish in a big pond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Samarai Sushi House is a little storefront along the restaurant rows of Davie St. It was recommended by a local and lived up to its reputation for massive fish portions and modest prices. Five visits in May 2012 were uniformly terrific. Best Chirashi I've had this side of the Toyko fish market - a sampling of many slabs of raw fish over a sea of mildly tasty rice. This place lives up to Vancouver's reputation for great, inexpensive sushi.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lman-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Huge portions! and cheaper?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

The quality is average, but the rolls are enormous, and so is the sashimi, feels like Super Mario Bros. 3 World 4 sized portions. And the price is a bit below average too!

Helpful?
Thank theschuay86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samurai Sushi House also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Samurai Sushi House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing